“Pass Away” By Tonstartssbandht

Tonstartssbandht, recently shared single/video, “Pass Away. The track is off their forthcoming release, Petunia, scheduled to drop on October 22, via Mexican Summer. The track follows the duo’s previous singles “What Has Happened,” and “Pass Away.” The self-directed video, edited by Adrian Randall, is a live studio performance of “Pass Away,” keeping the focus on Tonstartssbandht’s undeniable bond. Andy adds: “Long time music video enjoyer, first time mimer. Miming is pretty hard! Respect to all the mimes. We shot this one day in September 2021 in NYC.”

Watch Tonstartssbandht’s Video for “Pass Away”

Where most Tonstartssbandht albums come together slowly over years, Petunia is the first Tonstartssbandht album to be created in a sustained manner and in a consistent environment, written and recorded in a single place over a focused period of time. Using little more than a 12-string guitar and a drum kit, Andy and Edwin weave together the gentle headiness of Laurel Canyon and the sweaty pacing of Cologne; like a gyroscope, its constant motion produces the illusion of stillness—and that stillness gives it a sense of intimacy and introspection, something that’s further illuminated by the new emphasis placed on the brothers’ intertwining vocals.

The album was recorded at the brothers’ home studio in Orlando between April and August of 2020 and mixed by Joseph Santarpia and Roberto Pagano at The Idiot Room in San Francisco. This is the first time the two have brought in perspectives from outside of the White family, and the resulting Petunia is brighter, punchier, and more direct than its predecessor. As the Whites have long known, a song—like a person—is a constantly evolving thing, and a record is a photograph, a way to pause that motion, to examine an object at a single moment in its evolution. Petunia is a portrait of Andy and Edwin White at home in Florida, an artfully staged landscape rich in detail, its winding passages and airy environment waiting to be explored.

Tonstartssbandht
Live Dates

Sun. Oct. 24 – Asheville, NC @ The Grey Eagle
Mon. Oct. 25 – Washington, DC @ DC9 *
Tue. Oct. 26 – Philadelphia, PA @ KFN *
Wed. Oct. 27 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre *
Thur. Oct. 28 – New York, NY @ Market Hotel *
Fri. Oct. 30 – New Haven, CT @ Space Ballroom *
Mon. Nov. 1 – Richmond, VA @ Richmond Music Hall
Tue. Nov. 2 – Atlanta, GA @ 529
Fri. Nov. 5 – Mexico City, MX @ Hipnosis Festival
Thur. Nov. 11 – Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone
Sat. Nov. 13 – Chicago, IL @ Beat Kitchen
Sun. Nov. 14 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club ^
Tue. Nov. 16 – Denver, CO @ Hi-Dive ^
Wed. Nov. 17 – Salt Lake City, UT @ RYE ^
Thur. Nov. 18 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux ^
Fri. Nov. 19 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza ^
Sat. Nov. 20 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge ^
Mon. Nov. 22 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel ^
Tue. Nov. 23 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room
Fri. Nov. 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo ∞
Sun. Nov. 28 – Tucson, AZ @ Hotel Congress ∞
Mon. Nov. 29 – El Paso, TX @ Lowbrow Palace ∞
Tue. Nov. 30 – Austin, TX @ Antone’s ∞
Wed. Dec. 1 – Denton, TX @ Andy’s ∞

* with Dougie Poole
^ with Paul Jacobs
∞ with Sean Nicholas Savage