The Parrots share “Let’s Do it Again” video

The Parrots share “Let’s Do it Again" video. The track comes of the band's forthcoming release 'Los Niños Sin Miedo'.

The Parrots have shared the video for their single “Let’s Do it Again”.  The band describe the song as being “about friendship and loyalty and how sometimes its just like a computer trojan and makes you do things under the moon that you’ll be totally ashamed the next day.” The band have announced details of the release of their debut album, Los Niños Sin Miedo, due for release via Heavenly Recordings on August 26th.

The Parrots, Diego García (vocals / guitar), Alex de Lucas (bass) and Larry Balboa (drums), are a loose-hipped, primordial rock ‘n’ roll band from Madrid who met at university in the city and evolved from the same firmament of like-minded artists, photographers, DJs and musicians that recently spawned  Hinds – The Parrots’ Diego produced their recently released album Leave Me Alone.

They recorded Los Niños Sin Miedo in one week last September down by the sea in Cádiz at the studios of much-loved Spanish sound engineer Paco Loco. An idyllic setting conducive to the recording of the album, Paco’s infectious enthusiasm and artistic insight made the process even easier.

“Paco has these crazy ideas, like, ‘I think you guys need a solo here,’” explains Diego. “So I get my guitar, I drink, I smoke, I start playing and Paco says, ‘Oh this is amazing!’ You think it’s too crazy but he says, ‘If you heard this from John Cale you’d think it was amazing! You are an artist too!’ He gets completely involved.”

Citing The Monks, The Groupies, 13th Floor Elevators, Buddy Holly, Elvis and Diego’s biggest musical love Marc Bolan as inspiration The Parrots have that genius-stupidity of all ace garage rock bands, and they mix sunbaked stoner elation with a gleeful mangling of the English language: “If sometimes I express myself in the wrong terms, because I’m not English, for me it doesn’t matter,” says Diego. “When I first heard Jonathan Richman singing in Spanish, I loved it. He gets it all wrong and that has so much charm.”

Heavenly asked The Parrots to tour with Hooton Tennis Club after seeing them at SXSW last year, and the seeds for a long-term relationship were sown. “That tour was amazing,” says Larry. “All the shows were perfect. So when we finished the album we played it to Heavenly first and they loved it. We decided to join the label, and at SXSW this year, we thought, Let’s do it here. We signed the contracts on top of a pool table in a bar. It was fast and good, and that’s how we like it. Our smiles lasted a week – we’re still smiling. We’re going to be very happy in the Heavenly family.”

Los Niños Sin Miedo

1.   Too High To Die

2.   Let’s Do It Again

3.   No Me Gustas, Te Quiero

4.   A Thousand Ways

5.   Jame Gumb

6.   Casper

7.   EA Presley

8.   The Road That Brings You Home

9.   Windows 98

10. Los Ninos Sin Miedo


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.