“Parade” By Lydia Ainsworth

“Parade” By Lydia Ainsworth is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is off the singer/songwriter's forthcoming Sparkles & Debris
“Parade” By Lydia Ainsworth

Lydia Ainsworth forthcoming release Sparkles & Debris drops on May 21 via Zombie Cat Records, and is the follow-up to her 2019 release Phantom Forest. Sparkles & Debris debut single “Parade” is now available to stream. “Longing seems to be a major theme running through my songs on this album,” says Ainsworth. “Whether that is longing in love, longing to be free from oppression, or longing for the muse of inspiration to make an appearance. I have included some spells and charms in there as well that have proven effective, if any of my listeners want to use them for help with their own desires.”

Sparkles & Debris was written and produced by Ainsworth in Toronto, New York and Los Angeles over many years. Ainsworth recorded all her vocals at her engineer/mixer Dajaun Martineau’s studio in Toronto. Mark Kelso provided live drums and Neil Chapman and John Findlay added electric guitar and bass in the city’s Desert Fish and Noble St. studios. These live elements blend with Ainsworth’s own samples, programming and voice to create the record’s sound.

Ainsworth’s 2015 debut release Right from Real was nominated for a Juno Award for best electronic album and shortlisted for the Polaris Prize. In 2017 her second LP, Darling of the Afterglow, brought with it headlining tours of North America, Europe and Japan as well as support tours with Perfume Genius. In 2019 she released Phantom Forest, and that same year, “Earth Song,” her collaboration with Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein, appeared in the last episode of Season 3 of Stranger Things.

Lydia Ainsworth
Sparkles & Debris
Track list
Zombie Cat Records

1. Parade
2. Forever
3. Cosmic Dust
4. Sparkles & Debris
5. Cake
6. Halo of Fire
7. Good Times
8. Love Charm
9. Amaryllis
10. Queen of Darkness
11. All I Am

Pre Order Sparkles & Debris by Lydia Ainsworth HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.