Papercuts announces New Album, Drops single

Papercuts announces New Album, Drops single. "Still Knocking At The Door", Papercuts' LP "Life Among the Savages" comes out on May 6 (US) and May 12 (UK).

Papercuts is the moniker of San Francisco singer/songwriter/producer Jason Quever. On Life Among the Savages, Quever’s dreamy mixture of baroque pop, storytelling lyrics, and detailed production work is at its most potent. Having spent nearly 2 years whittling the record down to the essentials, Life Among the Savagesis the most concise and lucid of the 5 Papercuts releases. Recorded mostly in his SF home studio, Quever’s haunting melodies soar over strings, garagey guitar hooks, piano and mellotron, all held together by energetic bass and drums that never rely on a cliched beat. While there are echoes of bands like Spiritualized and the Zombies in the mood and ambitious orchestration of tracks such as the “Life Among The Savages” title track (which contains an arrangement contribution from Beach Houses’ Alex Scally), and echoes of dream pop such as the hypnotic “Staring At the Bright Lights”, the sound here is undeniably Quever’s all his own.

Life Among the Savages
(Easy Sound / Memphis Industries)
Street Date: May 6, 2014 (US) May 12, 2014 (UK)

1. Still Knocking At The Door
2. New Body
3. Life Among The Savages
4. Staring At The Bright Lights
5. Family Portrait
6. Easter Morning
7. Psychic Friends
8. Afterlife Blues
9. Tourist


02/26 San Francisco, CA The Chapel / Easy Sound Showcase @ Noise Pop


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.