Panda Bear announces UK & Euro tour

Panda Bear announces European Tour dates, NEW LP ‘PANDA BEAR MEETS THE GRIM REAPER’, OUT JAN 12 (UK) JAN 13 (US) 2015,

Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper, or PBVSGR as the album has been referred to cryptically online over the past few months, is the fifth studio album from Animal Collective founding member and critically acclaimed solo artist Noah Lennox, a.k.a. Panda Bear. The album will be released via Domino on January 12th in the UK and January 13th in the United States.

The Mr Noah EP, a 4-song standalone EP featuring the single, plus 3 new tracks that will not be on the forthcoming album is available to buy and to stream now. The exclusive iTunes pre-order of the album will come with the EP as instant gratification tracks.

Noah has had a far-from-quiet few years since the release of his fourth solo record, 2011’s Tomboy. Since 2007’s Person Pitch, each new Panda Bear release is a highly anticipated event, and a high-profile Daft Punk collaboration later (Doin’ It Right, from Random Access Memories), that’s more the case than ever.

Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper finds our hero leaving the airy minimalism of Tomboy and unpacking his sonic toolbox again, rearranging the multitude of his disparate influences into the ever-morphing concoction he refers to as “the soup.”Old school hip-hop textures and production techniques meld with the intuitive, cyclical melodies he has become known for, for a sound that is at once dense and playful.

Recording for the album came together everywhere from El Paso, Texas, to a garage by the beach near his home in Lisbon, Portugal. In a relationship that already proved fruitful on Tomboy, Noah partnered again with Pete “Sonic Boom” Kember, this time in a more top-to-bottom production role.

Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper signifies a pivotal point for an artist who has proven he can continue to evolve while remaining at the top of his game. As Noah says, “It’s sort of marking change — not necessarily an absolute death, but the ending of something, and hopefully the beginning of something else.”

Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper will be available in Standard CD and 2xLP formats, and Limited Edition Deluxe 2xCD and 3xLP formats.


Mr Noah EP Tracklisting

01. Mr Noah

02. Faces In The Crowd

03. Untying The Knot

04. This Side Of Paradise


Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper Tracklisting

01. Sequential Circuits

02. Mr Noah

03. Davy Jones’ Locker

04. Crosswords

05. Butcher Baker Candlestick Maker

06. Boys Latin

07. Come To Your Senses

08. Tropic Of Cancer

09. Shadow Of The Colossus

10. Lonely Wanderer

11. Principe Real

12. Selfish Gene

13. Acid Wash


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.