Oneohtrix Point Never Announces Again

Oneohtrix Point Never Announces new album Again. The multi-artist's new LP drops on September 29th via Warp Records
Oneohtrix Point Never photo credit Andrew Strasser & Shawn Lovejoy / Joe Perri

Oneohtrix Point Never, the recording project of multi-artist Daniel Lopatin, has announced his new album Again, will drop on September 29 via Warp. Like 2015’s Garden of Delete, Again germinated as a collaboration between Lopatin’s current and younger selves— this time, a meditation on his musical identity during young adulthood from the perspective of middle age. From there, Lopatin decoupled from the concept, and allowed the album to grow into a ‘illogical period piece’ where memory and fantasy converge to form something entirely new. The album imagines what might have been, as the musician made his music through space and time. Which decisions foreclosed some realities? What might those other worlds have sounded like?

The album’s artwork features an original sculpture by Matias Falkbakken, conceptualized in concert with Lopatin and photographed by Vegard Kleven. Design and packaging was developed by Memory, a newly formed collaboration between Lopatin and Online Ceramics (Elijah Funk & Alix Ross).

Again is the follow-up to Magic Oneohtrix Point Never, on which he turned the dial towards his own inner frequencies, drawing from the origins of OPN as a means to discover a new found sense of levity and spirit during tumultuous times. Since that release, Lopatin has been in demand in every area of musical culture, serving as musical director for The Weeknd’s 2021 Super Bowl Half-Time performance. He’s worked with James Blake, Ishmael Butler, Charli XCX, Kelsey Lu, Iggy Pop and Rosalia, and his production credits also include Anohni, FKA Twigs, David Byrne, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Moses Sumney, and Nine Inch Nails among others.

For his 2023 tour, Oneohtrix Point Never presented a new solo live show titled Rebuilds which repurposed seminal tracks from his catalogue in sonic discourse with newer releases. He was accompanied by live visuals performed by long-time collaborator Nate Boyce who developed a new real-time animation system that updates the graphical themes dating back to their earliest collaborations from over a decade ago. Lopatin is set to debut a brand-new live show in early 2024, in collaboration with the video artist Freeka Tet, and with performances planned globally.

Oneohtrix Point Never
Warp Records

01. Elseware
02. Again
03. World Outside
04. Krumville
05. Locrian Midwest
06. Plastic Antique
07. Gray Subviolet
08. The Body Trail
09. Nightmare Paint
10. Memories Of Music
11. On An Axis
12. Ubiquity Road
13. A Barely Lit Path

Pre-order Again by Oneohtrix Point Never HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.