Obnox shares new track “Menocause”

Obnox shares his new single "Menocause" from his forthcoming album 'Known America,' out April 7th.

Lamont “Bim” Thomas has transitioned from journeyman drummer (This Moment In Black History, Unholy Two, Puffy Areolas, Bassholes) to the full-on artist known as Obnox. He sculpts deep cuts out of blown-out beats, redline guitar damage, and soulful singing. Know America — Obnox’s fifth full-length — is the second of three albums to come out in 2015. Know America is the first of two albums this year on NYC label-to-watch Ever/Never Records. Part of an ambitious Ever/Never 2015 release schedule.

‘Know America’ is a loose concept album, something like Thomas’ deep soul take on ‘Pump Up The Volume’ or ‘Airheads’. Right at the start, on “Signal Takeover,” Obnox is hijacking the radio waves. A DJ that sounds suspiciously like Thomas, let us know that we are tuned to “Radio 420 WEDE” and that we better prepare for some “trunk punk.” In case you haven’t picked up what he’s laying down, Thomas informs you that the LP you just slapped on your turntable is “reefer on wax.”

Working as his own mixmaster, Thomas keeps the radio dial spinning with a heavy-as-dirt version of Bo Diddley classic “Power House.” The album ends with every DJs favorite part of the 24 hour cycle — “Safe Harbor” — a haven for bold, free speech and in-your-face music pushed into the red. Obnox is on his home court here, sovereign territory even. Thomas is not only familiar with the lay of the land, he’s out there discovering new horizons with each new release. Know America is another feather in the man’s cap. Onward and upward!

Obnox – Know America

1. Signal Takeover
2. Grease
3. Cracked Up
4. Menocause
5. Loudpack
6. Village Idiot
7. Hillbilly Intervention
8. Freaky
9. Life Long Vive
10. Situation Comedy
11. Power House
12 Safe Harbor

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.