Numero Announces Unwound Reissue Series

'Unwound' boxset to be released by Numero

This Fall the Numero Group embarks on a lengthy and comprehensive campaign to reissue the complete works of seminal Olympia, Washington, post-punk trio Unwound. Their seven albums – Fake Train, New Plastic Ideas, S/T, The Future Of What, Repetition, Challenge For Civilized Society, and Leaves Turn Inside You – will be expanded, remastered, and annotated in typical Numero fashion. The revered archival label has announced the first proper entry in the series, set for a 9/6/13 release, is a 3xLP comprising all of Unwound’s recorded output from 1991 and 1992, prior to their debut LP.

Kid Is Gone is the unquiet portrait of primal Unwound. Before 1993’s Fake Train ripped through, they’d been Giant Henry, Supertanker, and Cygnus X-1, short-lived black holes gathering dark material into something built to explode. From Justin Trosper, Vern Rumsey, and Brandt Sandeno‘s first restive years, “Crab Nebula” might’ve best prepared the indie-sphere for what Unwound became, had Sandeno’s split not stalled their planned debut. Part 1 in Numero’s 4-part reissue project, Kid Is Gone documents signal chaos in Olympia’s fertile scene before Unwound’s turbulent noise hit stride, in unrevealed period photos, 34 tracks, and three LPs-cassette-only demos, early 7″s, a KAOS radio broadcast, material tracked live in a local basement, and all of what became 1994’s Unwound, on which the band’s prehistory plays out in a feral maelstrom of screaming, distortion, feedback, and abrasive promise.


Side A

1. Bionic

2. LD-50                         

3. Lying At Best

4. Stumbling Block

5. Whilst You’re A Head

6. Rubber Band Heart                                                   

Side B

1. Crab Nebula                        

2. Caterpillar

3. Miserific Condition                     

4. Love And Fear                          

5. You Speak Jealousy

Side C

1. Antifreeze                    

2. Rising Blood                         

3. Understand & Forget                        

4. Fingertips                    

5. You Bite My Tongue                                                      

6. Stuck In The Middle Of Nowhere Again

Side D

1. Warmth

2. Prospect

3. Kid Is Gone

4. Kandy Korn Rituals

5. Against

6. I’d Die To Know You                           

7. Sugarfit                                                    

Side E           

1. Understand & Forget (KAOS session)

2. Miserific Condition (KAOS session)

3. Against (KAOS session)

4. Ape Skins (KAOS session)

5. Awkward (KAOS session)

Side F

1. Antifreeze (Live)                        

2. Rising Blood (Live)                                                      

3. Prospect (Live)                                                      

4. Stuck In The Middle Of Nowhere Again (Live)

5. Hating In D (Live)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.