“Nothing Really Changes” By Slow Leaves

"Nothing Really Changes" By Slow Leaves is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day
"Nothing Really Changes" By Slow Leaves is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day

Slow Leaves’ forthcoming album, Meantime, is about waiting for something momentous to occur in life, and how all the mundane stuff that happens during the wait actually constitutes what is meaningful. If you blink, you miss it; if you think too much, you miss it. If you’re lucky, in the meantime, there’s love and there’s death and not much less.

“I see this album as a love letter, a collection of messes that fit neatly within a regular life if there is such a thing. In that sense, I guess these songs serve as a reminder for myself, since I’m forgetful, that all moments are equal in that they pass through us once only in long stretches of boredom or by bursts of love and death. In the meantime, I only hope not to let any more go by unnoticed.”

The lead single, “American Band” He sings: ‘I wanna see the ocean / Tell my baby I’m coming back home instead/I don’t feel good/I want my own sweet, own sweet, bed / I don’t feel so good no more / Roll the window down and turn it around’. “At some point on every tour, I feel the weight of an existential pressure to justify why I’m not somewhere else doing something more reasonable,” Davidson says. “I know reality is always grittier than the dream, but like most things worth doing, the allure is in moments that break you just enough to feel saved.”

Slow Leaves is the solo project of Winnipeg, MB native Grant Davidson, curating every aspect of the music and its presentation, including being the multi-instrumentalist, producer, cover art designer, photographer, and videographer. He views the totality of these various aspects as being essential parts of a larger project of self-understanding through artistic methods. His folk and psych-rock stylings recall older songwriters like Nick Drake, Mickey Newbury, and Neil Young. But they also live in the world of modern classic writers like Andy Shauf, Bedouine, Big Thief, and Bill Callahan.

Davidson began playing guitar at age 15, inspired after discovering a Led Zeppelin II cassette tape in his older brother’s room. It was a finger-picked guitar however that would eventually form the heart of his songs. After three shoe-string budget albums under his own name, Davidson debuted as Slow Leaves in 2014 with Beauty Is So Common, followed by Enough About Me (2017), Shelf Life (2020), and Holiday (2021).

Slow Leaves
Birthday Cake Records

01 American Band
02 Reason Why
03 Happy All The Time
04 Nothing Really Changes
05 Grand Marquis
06 Jenny
07 Goodbye Florida
08 Anyone Out There
09 Underneath This
10 Say Goodnight

Pre-order Meantime by Slow Leaves HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.