“Northern Lights” By Claire George

Claire George released her debut LP The Land Beyond The Light via Cascine on May 21st. and today she shares the final single off of the Album, “Northern Lights.” The track Follows previous single “Pink Elephants” and “I Promise” is the gorgeous and heartbreaking “Northern Lights.” “I wrote ‘Northern Lights’ about someone I loved and lost to opioid addiction. I wanted to eternalize the memories we shared before they became distant or distorted, as they do when you retell or revisit them. After they passed, they appeared regularly in my dreams. Waking up I would relive the loss and beg for an alternate reality,” Claire explains. “The video came from one dream I had in which I was called up the floors of a house to an attic filled with light. The attic is where we store our memories, old photographs and cards we made for our mothers. To me this felt like a reminder to appreciate the memories, even as my grief is indelibly tied to them. In the video I wanted to give myself the chance to do what I cannot do in life: free myself of the grief. Wring it out and be left only with the light.”

Claire George
The Land Beyond The Light
Track list

1. You Don’t Feel the Same
2. I Promise
3. Pink Elephants
4. Medellín
5. Northern Lights
6. Nosebleed Seats
7. Islands
8. Bag of Peaches
9. Particles in Motion

order The Land Beyond The Light, out May 21st on Cascine, HERE.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.