No Frills Debut New Single “Darkhorse”

No Frills Debut New Single "Darkhorse." The track is ooff the Toronto band's forthcoming release Downward Dog, available April 1, 2022
No Frills Debut New Single "Darkhorse"

Toronto band, No Frills have shared “Darkhorse,” the track is lifted from their forthcoming release Downward Dog, available April 1, 2022. No Frills has played shows with Chris Cohen and Jerry Paper, Kiwi Jr., Nyssa, Ice Cream, and more.

Speaking on the track, songwriter Daniel Busheikin wrote: “‘Darkhorse’ was written after I was fired from a café of the same name (oops!) and is about the carrot dangling in front of our collective faces, promising an ultimate material reward that will always elude us. Basically a more pretentious version of ‘work sucks // I know.'” On No Frills’ debut record, Buskeikin calls himself names. He’s a bummer, a drip, a dog. It’s the latter that was embraced for the album’s title, Downward Dog – a description of Busheikin’s general malaise, and a nod to the yoga position he attempts every morning as part of a positive mental health routine.

When Toronto shut down in the spring of 2020, Busheikin descended into his basement and encircled himself with guitars, vintage synths and a nest of guitar pedals. Six months later, he emerged with fifteen demos and a vague plan.

Given that recording with a full band was no longer on the table, Downward Dog began by tracking only drums and bass to tape in Gavin Gardiner’s (The Wooden Sky) garage-turned-studio. With the digitized stems from those sessions, Busheikin started assembling the album in piecemeal. Bandmates Maddy Wilde (keys, vocals), Jonathan Pappo (drums), Matt Buckerrough (guitar, bass) and Mike Searle (bass) would sporadically drop in to record various riffs and rhythms and provide feedback. In lieu of a sensible engineer or proper recording equipment, Busheikin found himself leaning into bizarre production techniques. To get the ideal right vocal tones, for example, he sang wearing a KN95 mask into a microphone with a toilet paper tube taped to it.

No Frills
Downward Dog
Track List

01. Welcome…!
02. Save the Bees
03. Ice Cream Cone
04. Darkhorse
05. Drip
06. Copy Cat
07 I Don’t Wanna Be Your Dog Anymore
08. Thrasher
09. Common Folk
10. New Medication
11. Down For The Count
12. Terrycloth and Dirt
13. Everything Will Become Better
14. Pancake

Pre-order Downward Dog by No Frills HERE


Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.