No Devotion Release First Single

No Devotion Release First Single "Addition," From Forthcoming Debut Album 'Permanence.'

Collect Records and No Devotion have dropped the first single “Addition” from the band’s forthcoming debut album, Permanence. The LP will be released via singer Geoff Rickly’s Collect Records label on Friday, September 25th.

Geoff Rickly, the Brooklyn-based former Thursday frontman, had been keeping busy in the public eye with his politically satirical punk outfit United Nations without any indication that he’d been working on anything else – much less a new band. There was even less indication of a life after Lost Prophet members, Stuart Richardson, Richard Jamie Oliver, Mike Lewis and Lee Gaze, stepping out of the public life altogether was a personal necessity. But the arrival of “Stay” proved that this collaboration was vital.

Mixed by Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, MGMT, Cut Copy, Thursday), produced by Stuart Richardson and Alex Newport (Bloc Party, Frank Turner, The Mars Volta), this is the sound of a band not only liberated from their pasts, but perhaps liberated by them. Slates finally clean, No Devotion have refined those early flirtations with nostalgic pop-noir to find themselves at the intersection of post-punk and contemporary tricknology. “It’s an album as aggressively rhythmic as the singles are unrepentantly melodic,” a development powered by the band’s recently departed drummer Luke Johnson and founding Bloc Party drummer Matt Tong, who split the drum duties on this record.

Permanence track-listing:

01. Break
02. Permanent Sunlight
03. Eyeshadow
04. Why Can’t I Be With You?
05. I Wanna Be Your God
06. Death Rattle
07. 10,000 Summers
08. Night Drive
09. Stay
10. Addition
11. Grand Central

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.