Nite Jewel New LP “One Second of Love”


New LP “One Second of Love”

Released March 5 2012 on Secretly Canadian

Listen To The Title Track Here

California native Ramona Gonzalez first began her transcendent minimalist dance-pop escapades in the privacy of her own home in Los Angeles. With the aid of her multitrack cassette recorder and whatever keyboards, drum machines, and other instruments that were available to her, she very quickly developed her own unique sound and began performing live in the L.A. area under the moniker Nite Jewel.

Later teaming up with Cole M.G.N. (formerly of Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti), the Nite Jewel act became four piece live act, touring alongside the likes of Little Dragon, DaM-FunK, and James Blake. The Nite Jewel sound has been likened to that of a warped, lo-fi version of Late-80’s Freestyle Electro sensation Debbie Deb and has also found appeal among not just the ‘indie rock’ & ‘experimental’ crowd but also among avid listeners of hip hop, funk, disco, & soul. While very fond of these aforementioned genres and artists, Nite Jewel gathers much of her inspiration from the likes of L.A.Free Music Society’s experimentalist Tom Recchion, obscure UK new age electro-acoustic duo Woo, and the sublime ambient electronic music of groups like Germany’s Cluster and Italy’s Sensations Fix. Nite Jewel never hesitates, however, to cite 90’s R&B pop groups such as TLC & SWV as influences who left an indelible mark on her music sensibilities as a teenager.

In 2008, Nite Jewel released her debut album Good Evening, recorded with the assistance of longtime collaborator Cole M.G.N.. Good Evening was met with critical acclaim, was taste-making record store Other Music’s fourth top-seller of 2009, and was featured on the Greenberg motion picture soundtrack alongside James Murphy, Duran Duran, and Albert Hammond.

Since 2009, Nite Jewel honed its lounge-pop-R&B craft across releases from Italians Do It Better, Mexican Summer and LA/Bay Area labels Gloriette Records and Human Ear, which lead to a wealth of refinement and bold directness in singing and songwriting. Yours Truly’s Love Letters Inc. will release the “She’s Always Watching You” 7″ in December 2011, with new songs that feature newly minted vocal styles – an extension of the clarity found on the title track of last year’s ‘Am I Real?.” On One Second of Love, the forthcoming Nite Jewel opus, you’ll find a re-imagination of Golden-era R&B pop; future-classic sounds alongside vocal sultriness. If Nite Jewel’s earlier work brought to mind the likes of Lisa Lisa or Debbie Deb on quaaludes, this new body of work may conjure up clearer images of the likes of Sade, Eurythmics-era Annie Lennox and Tracy Thorn.Pure, confident, singular but intricate and delightfully sophisticated. This evolution will all come to a head in March 2012 when Secretly Canadian releases One Second of Love. Nite Jewel’s proper full-length follow up to her brilliant 2008 LP.


1. This Story
2. One Second of Love
3. She’s Always Watching You
4. Mind and Eyes
5. In the Dark
6. Memory Man
7. Unearthly Delights
8. No I Don’t
9. Autograph

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.