Ninja Tune’s Illum Sphere Reveals Spectre Vex

Ninja Tune's Illum Sphere Reveals Spectre Vex. Illum Sphere's "Spectre Vex," comes out via Ninja on April 22nd

Following the release of his debut album Ghosts Of Then And Now in February 2014, Illum Sphere steps back into the limelight with Spectre Vex, an 8-track mini-album that features exclusive new material from the Hoya: Hoya co-founder alongside remixes from fellow electronic outsiders Legowelt (L.I.E.S.), Lone (R&S), Charles Manier / James T. Cotton (aka Dabrye) and  Zed Bias.

Illum Sphere also contributes a brand new track “Spectre Vex” that boasts cascading synth motifs founded on chugging drums. The second 12″ heralds “Sleeprunner” reworks by Zed Bias and Illum Sphere himself; and the package is completed by not one, but two, reinterpretations by Ann Arbor’s foremost electronic abstractionist — the multi-monikered Tadd Mullinix aka Dabrye aka James T. Cotton aka Charles Manier. Twisting “The Road” in new directions, both versions are, naturally, subtly sublime and rooted in acid explorations: the JTC remix laying Shadowbox’s rich vocals on a bumpy acid techno cut whilst Charles Manier works choppier acid electro-robotic angles.

The exclusive limited edition 2 x 180g 12″ vinyl format will be released on April 22nd, packaged in a matte black flute-cardboard carton envelope featuring 4 print inserts by photographer Silvia Graf.

Illum Sphere – Spectre Vex

(Ninja Tune- April 22nd, 2014)


1. Embryonic (Legowelt Remix)

2. Embryonic (Lone Remix)

3. Love Theme From Foreverness (Version 2)

4. Spectre Vex

5. Sleeprunner (Zed Bias Remix)

6. Sleeprunner (Illum Sphere Re-Run)

7. The Road (JTC Remix)

8. The Road (Charles Manier Remix)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.