Nina Diaz announces debut album

Nina Diaz announces debut album 'The Beat Is Dead', out October 28 on Cosmica Artists. The first single "January 9th"

Recently, Nina Diaz announced her full-length album The Beat Is Dead. The album will be released on October 28 via Cosmica Artists. This is the first solo album of the revered frontwoman of Girl In A Coma, who were nurtured by Joan Jett, and had opened for Morrissey and Tegan and Sara.

Written exactly fifteen years after the passing of her grandmother, “January 9th” is a bittersweet ballad that opens the door to her new album. “January 9th” premiered recently and is available to stream.

The Beat Is Dead showcases the eclectic influences of Nina Diaz. Album opener “Trick Candle” is a wailing indie-electro banger about Michael Hutchence from INXS who she says is “somebody who’ll never burn out.” Equally as at home in an industrial goth rave as a nightclub, the sturm und drang of “Screaming Without a Sound” illustrates the anxiety-ridden process of staving off addiction.

The Beat Is Dead tracklist:

1. Trick Candle
2. Queen Beats King
3. Rebirth
4. January 9th
5. Fall In Love
6. Young Man
7. It
8. Screaming Without A Sound
9. Down
10. Dig
11. Star
12. For You
13. Morticians Musician

8/27: Mammoth Lakes, CA @ The Rafters
8/28: Las Vegas, NV @ Bunkhouse Saloon
9/10: San Marcos, TX @ SMTX Pride
910: San Antonio, TX @ Mission Pachanga (World Heritage Fest), Mission County Pavilion
9/17: Albuquerque, NM @ Sandia Casino (w/ Cyndi Lauper)
9/23: Houston, TX @ Fitzgeralds
9/24: New York, NY @ The Studio at Webster Hall