Nilüfer Yanya Drops New Single “Call It Love”

Nilüfer Yanya Drops New Single "Call It Love." The track is off her new album My Method Actor, available September 13th via Ninja Tune
Nilüfer Yanya debuts "Call It Love"

Nilüfer Yanya shares new song “Call It Love.” “It takes a certain kind of bravery to fully trust your instincts. Says It’s about allowing your calling to lead you, to let it guide you somewhere. Let that consume you and destroy you.” The track arrive, following the recent announcement of her sophomore album My Method Actor, which is due September 13th via Ninja Tune,

During the writing My Method Actor, Nilüfer retreated into the studio with her creative partner, Wilma Archer (Sudan Archives/MF Doom/Celeste). She had toured her second album, PAINLESS, for a year and entered a period of transition, between albums, between record companies, between homes. My Method Actor deals a lot with the idea of movement from one part of life and into another. The seeds of My Method Actor were planted in early 2023, but it wasn’t until the spring of that year that shoots began to appear. As songs started to form, Yanya and Archer squirreled themselves away from the world. “This is the most intense album, in that respect,” Yanya says. “Because it’s only been us two. We didn’t let anyone else into the bubble.” They wrote and recorded in small sessions, spread across London, Wales and Eastbourne. You can feel this cocooning of creative energy in the atmosphere of the record: it envelopes you entirely in cinematic sweeps while feeling intimate, finally inviting you into the little world they created and offering up its secrets.

Songs bloomed into being in unexpected ways helping Yanya make sense of her world and the ways it’s changing as she enters her late twenties and grapples with what it means to be an established musician. “For me, writing is definitely problem solving – in the way they say that dreaming is like problem solving. You’re like, oh, that sounds good. That looks good. That makes sense. But you don’t really know why. You’re kind of using that part of your creative brain that doesn’t have to make sense.” Her lyrics are specific and hazy at once, and sometimes surreal: she talks about the songs as though she’s trying to decipher the person she was when she wrote them.

Nilüfer Yanya
My Method Actor
September 13, 2024
Ninja Tune

1. Keep On Dancing
2. Like I Say (I runaway)
3. Method Actor
4. Binding
5. Mutations
6. Ready for Sun (touch)
7. Call It Love
8. Faith’s Late
9. Made Out Of Memory
10. Just A Western
11. Wingspan

Pre-order My Method Actor by Nilüfer Yanya HERE


Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.