Nilüfer Yanya Announces PAINLESS LP

Nilüfer Yanya announces new LP PAINLESS
Nilüfer Yanya announces new LP PAINLESS

Nilüfer Yanya has announced her LP PAINLESS, will be released on March 4th, 2022 via ATO Records. The album’s lead single “stabilise” also arrives today alongside its accompanying video by her sister and longtime creative collaborator Molly Daniel. The London-based will play the Pitchfork Music Festival and co-headline Hackney Church on November 13th with Moses Boyd and supported by Emma-Jean Thackray, and cktrl. PAINLESS is the follow-up to Nilüfer Yanya’s 2019 debut album Miss Universe

Nilüfer shares about the concept behind the single and video, “I was really thinking about your surroundings and how much they influence or change your perception of things. A lot of the city is just grey and concrete, there’s no escape.” She adds, “The video plays on the central theme in the song of no one coming to save you ever. It’s set in depths of reality in every day life where we are the only one’s truly capable of salvaging or losing ourselves. Nothing is out there -both a depressing and reassuring statement (depending on how you look at it). Sometimes you have to dress up as a spy or a rock star and just hope for the best.”

As the daughter of two visual artists (her Irish-Barbadian mother is a textile designer and her Turkish-born father’s work is exhibited at the British Museum) creativity was always destined for Nilüfer Yanya’s future. PAINLESS was recorded between a basement studio in Stoke Newington and Riverfish Music in Penzance with Miss Universe collaborator and producer Wilma Archer, DEEK Recordings founder Bullion, Big Thief producer Andrew Sarlo, and musician Jazzi Bobbi.

Nilüfer Yanya
ATO Records
Track List

1. the dealer
2. L/R
3. shameless
4. stabilise
5. chase me
6. midnight sun
7. trouble
8. try
9. company
10. belong with you
11. the mystic
12. anotherlife

Pre order PAINLESS by Nilüfer Yanya HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.