Nic Hessler premieres single “Do You Ever?”

Nic Hessler shares his new single "Do You Ever?" from his New Album 'Soft Connections'

In 2005, at the age of 14, Nic Hessler created the alias Catwalk to write, record and perform his music. Armed with Wipers and Roy Orbison records, an 8-track recorder and a garage, Nic set about to make Catwalk the next great guitar- oriented Californian band like many teenagers before him. Two tiny run 7″ singles on the now defunct Yay! imprint soon appeared, making the rounds in small indie record stores and mail order distributors. This led to Nic, as Catwalk, to be signed to the also young and new label Captured Tracks at the ripe old age of 18.

Two C/T 7″ releases in 2010 and 2011 followed, leading up to a full-fledged Catwalk LP and tour for 2011. Press reaction was swift and, as interest grew, Nic garnered support in his hometown of Orange County, CA to get together a line up to tour the LP. However, none of that would ever happen.

Around this time, Nic was struck with an ailment that kept him sidelined for quite sometime, Guillain–Barré Syndrome. A rare autoimmune disorder at times mistaken for Multiple Sclerosis, Guillian-Barre proved to be no walk in the park for Nic, preventing him from playing guitar and leaving him partially paralyzed for the bulk of this lost period. While this was detrimental for Nic and Catwalk, strangely, it may have helped the musician Nic Hessler’s career.

Now ditching the moniker of a hypothetical band, Nic re-emerges in 2015, healthy and reinvigorated. The sound of Soft Connections, his debut LP years in the making though he’s just 23. While it’s leaps and bounds away from Catwalk in terms of fidelity and depth, the melodic and harmonic quality of Catwalk remains deeply rooted in time-honored songwriting structures. Soft Connections bridges the songwriting influences of the vintage American power-pop of Emmit Rhodes and Alex Chilton with UK giants like The Kinks and XTC.


01. I Feel Again
02. Hearts, Repeating
03. Expel Me
04. Permanent
05. Do You Ever
06. All in the Night
07. All Around You
08. (Please) Don’t Break Me
09. Moonlight Girl
10. Into the Twilight
11. Soon You’ll See, Kristine
12. Soft Connections

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.