Naked Giants Debut “(God Damn!) What I Am”

Seattle band, Naked Giants will release The Shadow on August 21st, via New West Records.
Naked Giants 'The Shadow'

Seattle band, Naked Giants will release The Shadow on August 21st, via New West Records. The full-length was produced by Chris Funk of the Decemberists and follows their previous release Green Fuzz EP. The trio spent most of the past two years pulling double duty as both members of the Car Seat Headrest live band and also supporting each Car Seat Headrest performance with their own set as Naked Giants as well. Today, Naked Giants have shared a video for the single “(God Damn!) What I Am” which was directed and edited by the band.

Naked Giants have also announced a special record release livestream performance for the night before The Shadow is released. The band will be performing the album in its entirety live from the Nectar Lounge in Seattle, WA on August 20th. This will be the first time the band will be playing many of the new songs in a “live” setting and while the performance is ticketed, it is a “Pay What You Will” event. The band says “Hopefully our energy and excitement will make people feel like they’re at a real concert even when they’re sitting on a couch. While the Nectar Lounge is trying to stay afloat as a small venue, they keep ticket prices accessible for those who need music right now, and they work to support local artists like us and the causes we care about. They’ve taken to supporting the fight for racial justice in a local capacity by splitting revenue between the venue, the artist, and Seattle’s Black Lives Matter chapter and other affiliated organizations.” Tickets for this special performance can be reserved HERE.

The Shadow reveals new and welcome layers to the Naked Giants sound, both musically and lyrically. The band say The Shadow “is a much more honest album than SLUFF — we’ve come to realize that the path to becoming a better person and bringing positivity into the world isn’t always linear, and there’s a lot of growth in taking an honest look at the ‘shadow-y’ parts of life. Whether it’s personal anxiety and depression or collective guilt and trauma, there’s always a part of yourself that’s hard to confront and understand. But The Shadow is all about facing that darkness and having the strength to bring it into the light.”

Naked Giants
The Shadow
Track Listing
New West Records

1. Walk Of Doom
2. High School (Don’t Like Them)
3. Take A Chance
4. Turns Blue
5. (God Damn!) What I Am
6. The Ripper
7. Unpeeled
8. Television
9. Better Not Waste My Time
10. The Shadow
11. Song For When You Sleep