Naked Giants Announce The Shadow LP

Naked Giants announce new album The Shadow
Naked Giants 'The Shadow'

Naked Giants are set to release The Shadow on August 21st, 2020 via New West Records. The 11-song set was produced by Chris Funk of the Decemberists and follows the Seattle, WA-based trio’s Green Fuzz EP (2019) and debut album SLUFF (2018). The trio spent most of the past two years pulling double duty as both members of the Car Seat Headrest live band and also supporting each Car Seat Headrest performance with their own set as Naked Giants as well.

Today, the band has premiered the video for the single “High School (Don’t Like Them).” Written and directed by Naked Giants, Flood says the video “sees the group heading back to school in a stress-dream-esque live-action montage evolving into a claymated second half.” See the psychedelic drug-inspired “High School (Don’t Like Them).”

The Shadow is an energetic and exhilarating musical rollercoaster ride. Within the first ten minutes the band has already careened through a blitz of post-punk riffing, wastoid gang shouting, a singalong anthem-for-the-disaffected, and a Talking Heads-ish funk-rock workout with bits of shimmery synth and lo-fi slide guitar riffing thrown in for good measure. The Shadow also reveals new and welcome layers to the Naked Giants sound, both musically and lyrically. The band say The Shadow “is a much more honest album than SLUFF — we’ve come to realize that the path to becoming a better person and bringing positivity into the world isn’t always linear, and there’s a lot of growth in taking an honest look at the ‘shadow-y’ parts of life. Whether it’s personal anxiety and depression or collective guilt and trauma, there’s always a part of yourself that’s hard to confront and understand. But The Shadow is all about facing that darkness and having the strength to bring it into the light.”

The Shadow will be available across digital platforms, on compact disc, and standard black vinyl. A limited Coke Bottle Clear Vinyl Edition will be available at Independent Retailers and is also available for pre-order NOW via NEW WEST RECORDS.

Naked Giants 
The Shadow 
Track Listing
New West Records
1. Walk Of Doom
2. High School (Don’t Like Them)
3. Take A Chance
4. Turns Blue
5. (God Damn!) What I Am
6. The Ripper
7. Unpeeled
8. Television
9. Better Not Waste My Time
10. The Shadow
11. Song For When You Sleep