Mylko stream new single “Contrast”

Mylko stream new single and title-track "Contrast", available September 30th via Reverbatim Records.

Mexico City-based electronic duo Mylko are set to release their debut album ‘Contrast’ on September 30. This week they shared the album title-track “Contrast”. “Contrast is the first song we wrote as Mylko and our first approach at our sound,” the band explains. “It has an experimental vibe to it and a crazy middle section that remains among our favorite parts of the album. The song is about change and growth and embracing new realities.”

This pair of high school friends began their careers as drummers but eventually turned their attention to music production. Having worked with an array of independent artists, Jose Pablo Ibarra (“Jopa”) and Patricio Dávila Sanchez (“Pato”) decided to form Mylko three years ago. The band’s debut album contains eight tracks. Other songs on the record include the band’s first single, “Animal,” as well as other tracks such as “Closure,” the title track “Contrast,” or “Winter.” The record focuses on the duo’s personal trials and tribulations, including heartache.

Known for their intricate polyrhythmic compositions, the duo aims to bring a breath of fresh air to the electronica world by challenging popular concepts of music production and songwriting.

The band credits Cornelius, Bibio, Flying Lotus and The Chemical Brothers as inspirational artists who have helped shape their sound and style.

[Reverbatim Records]
Release Date: September 30, 2016

1. Animal
2. Untraveled
3. Contrast
4. Astray
5. Limits
6. Bloom
7. Closure
8. Winter