“My City Life” by Mitch Davis

Songwriter, producer, multi-instrumentalist Mitch Davis, will release his new album The Haunt, out April 29th via Arbutus Records. Along with the news of his debut album he also released a Phil Osborne-directed video for album track “My City Life.” The song is about using dating apps during the panic.

Davis tells us “”My City Life” was kinda meant to be a melodramatic joke as-in “my shitty life”. I wrote the song in one sitting which is really rare for me; I wouldn’t let myself leave that cold studio room until it was finished! It’s a bit of an ode to using dating apps through a pandemic.. trying to find cracks of sunlight in state-enforced isolation. But then getting more realistic in the 2nd verse, it’s about giving up the notion entirely before your “heart begins to freeze”, as you start closing yourself off to others and building barriers which remain long beyond their initial purpose.

Though he’s never had any formal musical training, Davis can’t remember a time in which music wasn’t a part of his life. When it came time to make his own record, Davis says: “I was always hoping I could find a way to blend everything together and get away with doing a bunch of different genres all at once, because I don’t like dwelling on a certain sound.”

Despite so much going on behind the scenes, The Haunt is a breezy, upbeat listen, very much in tune with the spirit of 70s pop that Davis loves for the way it strikes a balance between complexity and brevity. These are composed, layered songs made with care, but also made to make you smile. Not only fun for the listener, The Haunt sounds like it was fun to make—and it was. ”As soon as I start working on something, I don’t get tired. I can’t,” says Davis. “It’s like I get drunk on the music or something.” Yet the record is also very personal, pondering over the ways memories, both good and bad, can continue to linger long after the people and things that inspired them have disappeared into the ether—thus the title of The Haunt.

Mitch Davis
The Haunt
Arbutus Records

01 In the Morning
02 Bear the Cold
03 Let it Die
04 Left Inside
05 The Fall
06 What You Say
07 Hope That
08 My City Life
09 Idle Days
10 The Haunt

Pre-order The Haunt by Mitch Davis HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.