Mura Masa Announces Demon Time Album

Mura Masa has announced his new album Demon Time, will drop on September 16, 2022. Ahead of the release the artist has shared "Blessing Me"
Mura Masa has announced new album Demon Time

Mura Masa has announced his new album Demon Time will drop on September 16, 2022. Ahead of the release, he has shared a new track “Blessing Me” featuring Jamaican rapper Skillibeng and Gambian-British artist Pa Salieu.

The new track follows “bbycakes” featuring Lil Uzi Vert, PinkPantheress and Shygirl, the album’s lead single released in February. Late last year, Mura Masa teased Demon Time with the surprise track “2gether,” which followed collaborations with Shygirl—on a rework of Lady Gaga’s “Sour Candy” for her remix album Dawn of Chromatica—and PinkPantheress—on “Just For Me” from her debut.

While making Demon Time, Mura Masa— the 25-year-old songwriter, producer and multi-instrumentalist Alex Crossan—only had one question in mind: “What’s the most fun thing we can do?” The “we” he is referring to is the extensive roster of friends and collaborators he wrangled for his third album—including Shygirl, Channel Tres, Erika De Casier, Nao, Bayli, Isabella Lovestory and several others.  For previous albums, Crossan busied himself compiling documents of musical references, moodboards and various thoughts and ideas to steer his creation process. This time, he was inspired by a note on his phone that just said one word in capital letters: FUN.

The name of the album refers to those early morning hours at a party or with friends where a delivish yet innocent sense of mischief prevails, a headspace that Mura Masa felt was crucial to tap into following two heavy years of pandemic blues. Rather than continuing to explore his last album’s preoccupation with nostalgia and a world of imagined memories, Mura Masa went in the opposite direction, opting for a tongue-in-cheek, hedonistic response to combat the absurdity of it all. “It’s devil on the shoulder type fun. Not necessarily the most wholesome, but it’s a really good time,” he says with a wink and a smile.

Mura Masa is producer and multi-instrumentalist Alex Crossan—has released two  albums, and collaborated and shared stages with some of today’s most unique artists, collaborated with Tirzah, Clairo, slowthai, Georgia and more. Known for his  boundary-pushing production, Mura Masa won his first Grammy Award in 2019, following two additional nominations for his acclaimed self-titled debut album, making him the first artist in history to be nominated as both a musician and creative director for the same album. He’s nominated for his fourth Grammy this year, up for Best Remixed Recording for his rework of PVA’s “Talks.” Throughout his career, Mura Masa has toured the world over, headlining shows worldwide and playing sets at Coachella, Primavera Sound and many more.

Mura Masa
Demon Time
Track List

1. demon time (feat. BAYLI)
2. bbycakes (feat. Lil Uzi Vert, Shygirl, & PinkPantheress)
3. slomo (feat. Tohji & Midas The Jagaban)
4. 2gether
5. up all week (feat. Slowthai)
6. prada (i like it) (feat. Leyla)
7. hollaback bitch (feat. Channel Tres & Shygirl)
8. no ish (feat. Lil Yachty & Unknown T)
9. blessing me (feat. Pa Salieu & Skillibeng)
10. tonto (feat. Isabella Lovestory)
11. e-motions (feat. Erika de Casier)
12. blush (feat. Leyla)

Pre-order Demon Time by Mura Masa HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.