Mr Scruff’s Remix


From the left or the right side? Straight ahead or upside down? No matter how you look at it, it’s about time for all the remixes of Jazzanova that have been done over the last few years to be bundled up in a nice big shiny package.

Following their first collection of remixes from 2003 (Remixed, JCR040-2) Upside Down sees some of dance music’s finest key figures interpret selected Jazzanova tunes from the last eight years. And be assured, the line-up is as massive as the Berlin’s quintet worldwide reputation. From fellow Berliner Henrik Schwarz, Ye:Solar and Âme to Atjazz and Mr. Scruff from the UK, Motor City Drum Ensemble from Cologne, Glasgow’s Midnight Mauraders and Soldiers Of House from Pretoria (South Africa) this is a top notch international heavy weight affair.

Inspired by these outstanding reworks of their original material Jazzanova member and DJ Alex Barck and Jazzanova Live! band member Stefan Ulrich (under his Neve Naive moniker together with Alexa Voss on vocals) also got upside down and delivered a remix each to this prosperous project. In addition to these two brand new and unreleased remixes, the ones by Soldiers Of House and Midnight Mauraders are also available for the first time on this collection.

Both acts are ones to keep an eye on. Pretoria twosome Soldiers Of House (also known as Abwalk) started releasing music in 2005 before founding their own label Soldiers Of House Entertainment in 2008. When participating in a Jazzanova remix competition in 2009 and placing second they not only caught the attention of Jazzanova/Sonar Kollektiv but pushed their career to new heights. Their remix of “Lie” is a promise of things to come. Also a duo, The Midnight Marauders (Ali Herron and Ross Telford) hail from Glasgow and have caused ruckus with their solo work as
OOFT! and a DJ residency at the UK’s longest running weekly house night Subculture at the Sub Club. More remixes and original material are expected in the very near future.

The Upisde Down release will be presented in a unique package. The CD’s cover art, courtesy of JuToJo will printed directly on the front of the jewel case. The

accompanying 12inch singles (SK229 & SK230, out January) will be packed in a screen printed plastic outer sleeve. A true collector’s item!


1. I Can See feat. Ben Westbeech (Filippo Moscatello Remix)
2. Let Me Show Ya feat. Paul Randolph (Henrik Schwarz Remix)
3. Dance The Dance (Atjazz Remix)
4. Lie feat. Thief (Soldiers Of House Remix)
5. I Can See feat. Ben Westbeech (Midnight Marauders House Your Father Dub)
6. Boom Clicky Boom Clack (Mr. Scruff Vocal Mix)
7. I Can See feat. Ben Westbeech (Ye:Solar Remix)
8. No Use feat. Clara Hill (Lensco Remix)
9. Look What You’re Doin’ To Me feat. Phonte (Manuel Tur & Dplay Remix)
10. Glow & Glare (Âme Remix)
11. I Can See feat. Ben Westbeech (Mark E Remix Dub)
12. Jazzanova – Theme From Belle et Fou (Danny Krivit Edit)
13. Look What You’re Doin’ To Me (Motor City Drum Ensemble Remix)
14. Lie feat. Thief (Bond & B.MA Just A Lie Remix)
15. Lucky Girl feat. Paul Randolph (Neve Naive Remix)
16. I Can See feat. Ben Westbeech (Vaitaitau Remix)


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.