“Mornings” by Lowly

Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day' is "Mornings" by Lowly

Just days ahead of the release of their debut album Heba (out this Friday, February 10th through Bella Union), Danish quintet Lowly are pleased to premiere an immersive new track entitled “Mornings”.

“The song is about the moment when you realize that a person whom you used to be close with isn’t anymore,” explains band member Nanna Schannong. “You realize that it’s better to just keep the conversation clean to avoid any struggle.”

Lowly only came together as a band in 2014, having met at the musical academy in Aarhus, Denmark. Despite all five members being involved in different studies, and having their own pre-existing endeavours, Nanna Schannong (lead vocals, guitar), Soffie Viemose (lead vocals, laptop), Kasper Staub (synthesisers), Thomas Lund (bass, Moog) and Steffen Lundtoft (drums, percussion) soon found common musical ground; a restlessly inventive and exquisitely melodic sound.

The band themselves call it “noise-pop, and everything in between”. In this case ‘noise’, explains Kasper Staub, refers to the textures and treatments via laptop and guitar. This gives Lowly songs shape-shifting qualities (brilliantly layered by the band and co-producer Anders Boll, Efterklang’s long-trusted engineer/soundman).

“We think of our music and lyrics more like a painting, we think it should all melt together,” says Staub. “We’re all interested in developing ourselves as songwriters, and working in new ways, with different ideas.”

Heba Tracklisting:

1. Still Life
2. Deer Eyes
3. Look At The Sun
4. Mornings
5. Cait #2
6. Prepare The Lake
7. Stubborn Day
8. Pommerate
9. No Hands
10. Word
11. Not So Great After All