Moon King Premiere New Single “Apocalypse”

Moon King Premiere New Single "Apocalypse," debut LP 'Secret Life'

Moon King have shared a second track from their forthcoming album Secret Life, which will be out via Last Gang Records on April 14th. The track comes on the heels of a run of UK dates for the Toronto duo, which saw them play a number of shows with Alvvays.

In 2013, Moon King, made up of songwriter Daniel Benjamin and singer/guitarist Maddy Wilde, played over 100 shows to support a pair of EPs, Obsession I and II, which were released on Fucked Up’s One Big Silence label in North America and Tough Love in UK/Europe. After a year spent on the road, it became evident they should capture the energy of their live show while it was fresh. Daniel & Maddy relocated to a cottage in northern Ontario to record the album with a group of Toronto music scene luminaries, all of whom had played in various incarnations of the live band.

Most of the tracks on the album were recorded live off the floor, with little except the vocals added, put to tape by live sound engineer Noah Giffin (Owen Pallett, Austra, DIANA). The record was then mixed in New York with Jacob Portrait of Unknown Mortal Orchestra/Blouse.

Secret Life Tracklisting

01. Roswell

02. Secret Life

03. Impossible

04. Come Back

05. Hexe

06. Threads

07. Apocalypse

08. Golden Age

09. Medicine

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.