Modest Mouse Announce Expanded “Good News For People Who Love Bad News” Reissue

Modest Mouse Announce Expanded "Good News For People Who Love Bad News" Reissue
Modest Mouse Photo by David Emmite

Legacy Recordings, the catalog division of Sony Music Entertainment, will release a digital expanded edition of Modest Mouse’s 2004 breakthrough album, Good News For People Who Love Bad News in celebration of its 20th anniversary. The digital release, Good News For People Who Love Bad News: 20th Anniversary Expanded Edition, features eight bonus tracks, including brand new remixes from Poolside, Jacknife Lee, Dan the Automator, MGMT’s Andrew VanWyngarden and more. See the complete track listing below.

Also available to pre-order is the 2-LP vinyl version of the project, Good News For People Who Love Bad News (Deluxe Edition), out May 17th. Remastered for vinyl in opaque baby pink and opaque spring green, the package includes an alternate album cover, 8-page booklet and five of the new remixes.

Released by Epic Records on April 6, 2004, Good News For People Who Love Bad News offered a unique blend of existential lyricism and innovative soundscapes which helped Modest Mouse break out of the rock underground after more than a decade of existence. Written by Isaac Brock, Dann Gallucci, Eric Judy and Benjamin Weikel, with additional contributions from Tom Peloso, The Dirty Dozen Brass Band and The Flaming Lips. Its success propelled Modest Mouse to new levels of visibility without compromising its hard-won artistic freedom, which was no small feat at a time when many once-independent acts were creatively waylaid after signing to major labels.

The band has also shared the video for “The World At Large/Stiff Animal Fantasy,” directed by Jason Foster and Isaac Brock. It was previously only available on the DVD side of the Good News For People Who Love Bad News DualDisc and has been up-rezzed to HD.

Good News For People Who Love Bad News: 20th Anniversary Expanded Edition (digital edition) track list:

1. Horn Intro
2. The World At Large
3. Float On
4. Ocean Breathes Salty
5. Dig Your Grave
6. Bury Me With It
7. Dance Hall
8. Bukowski
9. This Devil’s Workday
10. The View
11. Satin in a Coffin
12. Interlude (Milo)
13. Blame it on the Tetons
14. Black Cadillacs
15. One Chance
16. The Good Times Are Killing Me
17. The World At Large (Enough Love to Kill Us All/Jeremy Sherrer Remix) * ^
18. Float On (Dan the Automator Remix) * ^
19. Ocean Breathes Salty (Poolside Remix) * ^
20. Bury Me With It (Jacknife Lee Remix) * ^
21. Bukowski (Congleton/Godbey Remix)
22. The View (Andrew VanWyngarden Remix) *
23. One Chance (Dennis Herring Remix) * ^
24. The Good Times Are Killing Me (Justin Raisen Remix) *

Pre-order the reissue HERE.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.