Moderat Announce ‘II’ | Album Out August 6th

Moderat share details of new album

Mute has announced the signing of Moderat for the US & Canada in partnership with Monkeytown Records for the rest of the world. On August 6th the duo of Modeskeletor and Apparat will release their sophomore album, II. Having recently released Apparat’s latest album.

“After spending 6 quite intense months in the studio we just finished our 2nd album.
It‘s simply called Moderat II and we aged about 10 years while making. We still think it was worth the trouble. 
To keep you up to date, we just launched our new website.”

II will be released in both standard and deluxe formats. Standard edition will be an 11-track CD and an 8-track single LP. Deluxe edition will be a 12-track (one bonus track) CD and 11-track double colored LP which include a 16 page booklet with lyrics and “behind the scenes” studio pictures from the recording process.

For their cover art, the duo once again called up good friends, Pfadfinderei to develop album artwork along with art to accompany their live performances. Following suit of the woman punching her face on the debut album’s cover, Siriusmo created artwork that further develops a Moderat design series.

“We wanted for the new Moderat album to follow the design of the debut album and create a design series, so we asked Siriusmo, who had already been drawing the punching woman of the first Moderat album, to come up with a similary unique follow up. At the same time we wanted it to be a bit more colourful, so that you would see it’s a step forward. It’s similar, but different. Contrary to the self titled debut album, the successor has different cover art for the standard and deluxe album formats. Again, they are related, similar, but easily recognizable as distinct products.”

Cover art differs for both formats so that standard and deluxe formats can be immediately recognized.  Initial pressings for both standard and deluxe will be released in non-standard packaging as they are meant to be true collector’s items.

Standard CD Tracklisting
1 The Mark (Interlude)
2 Bad Kingdom
3 Versions
4 Let in the Light
5 Milk
6 Therapy
7 Gita
8 Clouded (Interlude)
9 Ilona
10 Damage Done
11 This Time
Deluxe CD Tracklisting
(Mediabook Format, 16 page booklet incl. lyrics and “behind the scenes” studio pictures from the recording process, customized tray)
1  The Mark (Interlude)
2  Bad Kingdom
3  Versions
4  Let in the Light
5  Milk
6  Therapy
7  Gita
8  Clouded (Interlude)
9  Ilona
10  Damage Done
11  This Time
12 Last Time
Standard LP Tracklisting
A1  The Mark (interlude)
A2  Bad Kingdom
A3  Versions
A4  Let in the Light
B1  Gita
B2  Clouded (Interlude)
B3  Damage Done
B4  This Time
Deluxe Colored Double LP Tracklisting
A1  The Mark (Interlude)
A2  Bad Kingdom
A3  Versions
B1  Let in the Light
B2  Milk
C1  Therapy
C2  Gita
C3  Clouded (Interlude)
D1  Ilona
D2  Damage Done
D3  This Time

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.