“Mobilise” by Vessels

"Mobilise" by Vessels, is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day.'

After announcing The Great Distraction, out September 29th via Different Recordings and the sharing of track “Deflect The Light” feat. The Flaming Lips, Vessels have shared their new single “Mobilise”.Featuring collaborations with The Flaming Lips, John Grant, Vincent Neff (Django Django) and Harkin (Sky Larkin), The Great Distraction proves Vessels’ most ambitious record to date and marks further evolution of a band always exploring new avenues of expression.

“We’re really aiming to create a living, breathing human version of electronic dance music. There isn’t anything more honest and organic than the human voice. The vocals should be an extension of the music we make, and also add something new or interesting,” says Martin Teff.

The new album brings Vessels into new areas. Wayne Coyne’s vocal soars towards the clouds on “Deflect The Light”, Vincent Neff’s presence adds to the powerful dramatics of “Trust Me”, and John Grant imbues “Erase The Tapes” with characteristically austere beauty. “He has such a distinctive voice,” muses Martin, “he really inspired us to create something totally new.”

It’s a sense of reflection that inadvertently applied to how The Great Distraction got its title – with the band looking inwards, as well as outwards, inspiration came from an unexpected source. “The title came from a misheard lyric that John Grant had written,” Martin admits. “To us, it resonates in a few different ways. Personally, I like art that has a slower impact like that.”

“We’re always learning and trying new stuff, and the set-up has evolved as the records have evolved,” explains Vessels’ producer and principal songwriter Lee J Malcolm. “The exploration of sound to me is so exciting and that, for me, is the catalyst for everything.
Pete agrees: “Lee once said that ‘it’s a puzzle we might not solve’, but this, this feels like we’ve landed on something.”

Vessels are Lee J. Malcolm, Martin Teff, Peter Wright, Tim Mitchell and Tom Evans. They will be touring Europe this fall.

Tour dates:

09/30 Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social
10/03 Brighton, UK @ Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar
10/04 London, UK @ Village Underground
10/05 Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
10/06 Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
10/07 Glasgow, UK @ Art School
10/14 Paris, FR @ Batofar
10/18 Amsterdam, NL @ ADE
10/19 Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
10/20 Antwerp, BE @ Het Bos
10/26 Berlin, DE @ Prince Charles
10/27 Hamburg, DE @ Kleiner Doner
10/28 Cologne, DE @ Artheater
11/01 Barcelona, ES @ Razzmatazz
11/02 Madrid, ES @ Siroco

The Great Distraction
Track Listing:

1. Mobilise
2. Deflect The Light (feat. The Flaming Lips)
3. Position
4. Radiart
5. Deeper In A Sky (feat. Harkin)
6. Gløwer
7. Trust Me (feat. Vincent Neff)
8. Everyone Is Falling
9. Radio Decay
10. Erase The Tapes (feat. John Grant)


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.