MJ Lenderman Announces Live Album

MJ Lenderman announces live album And The Wind (Live and Loose!). The multi-artist's full-length drops on November 17th via ANTI-
MJ Lenderman announces live album And The Wind (Live and Loose!)

MJ Lenderman announces his new live album, And the Wind (Live and Loose!), will drop on November 17th via ANTI-. Along with the news, the artist has shared a video for “You Have Bought Yourself A Boat.” On his records, Lenderman handles most of the playing, but with And the Wind (Live and Loose!) it’s a multi-headed beast. With the help of guitarist Jon Samuels (Friendship, 2nd Grade), drummer Colin Miller, plus fellow Wednesday bandmates Xandy Chelmis (pedal steel) and Ethan Baechtold (bass), And the Wind (Live and Loose!) builds out a number of beloved MJ tracks into something else entirely.

MJ Lenderman And the Wind (Live and Loose!) is culled from sold-out summer 2023 shows on a brief headline run during what some might call a wild-ass couple of months. A nine-week international Wednesday tour, stints in studios with a number of other artists, and Lenderman’s own signing with storied indie label ANTI-. Taped live at Chicago’s Lincoln Hall and Los Angeles’ Lodge Room, And the Wind (Live and Loose!) captures a near-euphoric moment in time — dizzying and exhausting and, most of all, having some real true-blue fucking fun with your best friends.

The songs on Lenderman’s 2021 release, Ghost of Your Guitar Solo (Dear Life Records), are lo-fi, almost skeletal; “Live Jack” a sleepy bedroom mumble, “Catholic Priest” akin to an early Molina ballad. But in the non-stop churn of And the Wind (Live and Loose!), they’ve become boisterous, unwieldy, outgrowing their sparser starts – and now, finally, here the rollicking definitive versions of these songs live outside of the ether of YouTube bootlegs. Even the newer songs, like the just-released “Rudolph,” have room to grow here — namely with a shredding guitar solo courtesy of Samuels that stretches out the second half of the song into a euphoric jam. Boat Songs’ (2022, Dear Life Records) homespun “Dan Marino” is a high-octane ride on And the Wind (Live and Loose!). “Someone Get the Grill Out of the Rain” punches up its weepy pedal steel, while yowling setlist highlights “Tastes Just it Costs” and “Hangover Game” both come out swinging when played in a roomful of people screaming it back.

MJ Lenderman
And the Wind (Live and Loose!)

1. Hangover Game (Live)
2. Knockin (Live)
3. You Have Bought Yourself A Boat (Live)
4. TLC Cagematch (Live)
4. Rudolph (Live)
5. Toon Town (Live)
6. Dan Marino (Live)
7. Under Control (Live)
8. Dan Marino (Live)
9. SUV (Live)
10. Catholic Priest (Live)
11. Live Jack (Live)
12. Someone Get The Grill Out Of The Rain (Live)
13. You Are Every Girl To Me (Live)
14. Tastes Just Like It Costs (Live)
15. Long Black Veil (Live)

MJ Lenderman Tour Dates
Fri. Dec. 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon +
Sat. Dec. 9 – Ojai, CA @ Deer Lodge +
Sun. Dec. 10 – San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop +
Tue. Dec. 12 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios +
Wed. Dec. 13 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern +
Tue. Feb. 27, 2024 – Perth, AU @ Perth Festival *
Thu. Feb. 29, 2024 – Sydney, AU @ The Factory *
Sun. Mar. 10, 2024 – Meredith, AU @ Golden Plains Festival

+ Karly Hartzman & MJ Lenderman Solo Show w/ Dan Wriggins
* supporting Wednesday

Pre-order And the Wind (Live and Loose!) by MJ Lenderman HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.