Minor Alps Debut New Video

Minor Alps (Juliana Hatfield + Matthew Caws) Debut Music Video: On Tour in November

Minor Alps, the collaborative vision of Juliana Hatfield and Nada Surf’s Matthew Caws, have premiered the Clyde Petersen directed music video for “I Don’t Know What To Do With My Hands”, the latest song off the duo’s forthcoming album Get There, out October 29th on Barsuk Records.

This November the pair will embark upon a string of tour dates in support of the release, kicking off in Seattle at the Barsuk Records 15th Anniversary Show.

Over the last two decades, both Caws and Hatfield have carved out long-lasting – and strikingly independent – careers within a dependably fickle music business, Caws with his now 20-year-old New York City group Nada Surf, and Hatfield with the Boston-reared Blake Babies, the Juliana Hatfield Three, Some Girls, as well as a number of releases under her own name.

Hatfield and Caws not only share lead vocals and co-writing credit on each of the eleven songs that comprise Get There; aside from some drumming and programming by Parker Kindred (Jeff Buckley, Antony and the Johnsons) and Chris Egan (Solange, Computer Magic), the pair plays every instrument and conjures every sound – from primitive electronic dub pulse (‘Buried Plans’)– to straight-up rock hook (‘I Don’t Know What To Do With My Hands’) to stripped-down electric guitar punch (‘Mixed Feelings’) to eerie trance-allure (‘Radio Static’) to hypnotic guitar drone (‘Waiting For You’).

Upcoming Tour Dates:


08 – Seattle, WA – Neptune Theater (Barsuk 15th Anniversary Show)

09 – Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theatre

11 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent

12 – Los Angeles, CA – Echoplex

14 – San Diego, CA – Soda Bar

16 – Minneapolis, MN – Cedar Cultural Center

17 – Chicago, IL – Schubas

19 – Washington, DC – Black Cat

20 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom

22 – Philadelphia, PA – World Café Live

23 – Boston, MA – Sinclair


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.