Merge to re-issue Teenage Fanclub albums

On August 5, Merge will reissue Teenage Fanclub’s Man-Made and Shadows, LPs never before available on LP in the US. Teenage Fanclub play Merge 25 Festival

On August 5, Merge will reissue Teenage Fanclub’s Man-Made and Shadows, two albums never before available on LP in the US. Both reissues will include two bonus tracks; full track listings for each album is below.

These reissues continue our year-long 25th anniversary series of re-releasing classic albums from our back catalog each month throughout 2014.

Teenage Fanclub released Man-Made, their Merge debut, in 2005. Recorded with John McEntire in Chicago, Man-Made is described by the band as “a medium-risk experiment—to cut ourselves off from what we knew, to be in a different type of city, on a different continent, to work with John, a different type of musician, an engineer with a particular sound, and to interact with whatever equipment he had at Soma: his drums, his amplifiers, his keyboards. The plan was to be somewhere truly new and deal with it, see how it worked out. We had never made a record this way before, and the prevailing circumstances at the time, the fact that we really had nothing to lose, made doing something slightly differently seem quite appealing.”

Shadows followed five years later. The band reveals how the recording process differed from the previous album: “Compared with Man-Made, this is a softer isolation, surrounded by fields and emptiness, and the live room at the studio, a converted barn, is filled with our equipment all mic’d up and ready to go. This set-up is how we approached the three records leading up to Man-Made, and we feel it suits us: a residential country location, close enough to drive but with sufficient distance from home to concentrate our minds on the job at hand.”

Man-Made and Shadows will be released on 180-gram vinyl, as a bundle or sold separately, and each LP will include a download of the album plus two bonus tracks. Teenage Fanclub will return to the US in July for the first time since 2010 to play the Merge 25 Festival in North Carolina and RiverRocks at Pier 84 in New York.

Man-Made tracklist:
1.    It’s All In My Mind
2.    Time Stops
3.    Nowhere
4.    Save
5.    Slow Fade
6.    Only With You
7.    Cells
8.    Feel
9.    Fallen Leaves
10.  Flowing
11.  Born Under A Good Sign
12.  Don’t Hide
13.  Please Stay*
14.  Falling Leaf*
*bonus tracks

Shadows tracklist:
1.    Sometimes I Don’t Need To Believe In Anything
2.    Baby Lee
3.    The Fall
4.    Into The City
5.    Dark Clouds
6.    The Past
7.    Shock And Awe
8.    When I Still Have Thee
9.    Live With The Seasons
10.  Sweet Days Waiting
11.  The Back Of My Mind
12.  Today Never Ends
13.  Secret Heart*
14.  Dark And Lonely*
*bonus tracks

Teenage Fanclub shows:
Jul 24 New York, NY – RiverRocks at Pier 84 w/ Saint Rich
Jul 26 Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle (Merge 25)
Aug 15 Glasgow, UK – Kelvingrove Bandstand

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.