Melody’s Echo Chamber shares “Desert Horse”

Melody's Echo Chamber shares new single "Desert Horse"
Melody's Echo Chamber

Bon Voyage, Melody’s Echo Chamber (aka Melody Prochet), forthcoming release is dropping June 15th via Fat Possum Records. Today, she shares her latest single off the album “Desert Horse.”

Having previously shared “Breathe In, Breathe Out”, Prochet has unveiled perhaps the wildest track from the album, “Desert Horse”. The song is described as a “A lysergic sound event that’s sparse one moment and frantic the next, juxtaposing backward looping and vocoders with acoustic instrumentation and arabesque ululations,”

Melody Prochet on “Desert Horse”:

“This track was a monster,” remarks Melody. “It’s the most sculptural and mad I guess. It embodies my difficult life journey these last few years through my own personal desert of heartaches, thirst, mirages, moving sands, disillusionment and of becoming an adult woman in a mad world. It’s a little punk to me somehow.”

Bon Voyage is a collaborative record between Prochet and Dungen’s Reine Fiske and The Amazing’s Fredrik Swahn with Melody sculpting and producing the sessions as well as encouraging the players around her to experiment, often with instruments that might be less familiar to them. It also features special guests Gustav Esjtes and Johan Holmegaard (both from Dungen) and Nicholas Allbrook (Pond).

Bon Voyage marries Melody’s breathless soprano to the wildest sonic excursions as she delivers her fables of spiritual search and emotional healing in multiple tongues (French, English and Swedish). The album arrives more than five years after Melody’s Echo Chamber’s debut, and it is the soundtrack to a trip back from the brink, the sound of spiritual renewal, and a pilgrimage to the sonic outer limits.

“Desert Horse”

Written by Melody Prochet, Fredrik Swahn & Reine Fiske

Lyrics by Melody Prochet

Melody Prochet: vocals, mellotron, tuning pedal, sound sculpting, drums Fredrik Swahn: sound engineering, additional production

Reine Fiske: guitars, bass, drums, violin, percussions

Gustav Ejstes: human beatbox, percussions, scream

Produced by Melody Prochet, Fredrik Swahn & Reine Fiske

Mixed by Maxime Leguil

Mastered by Raphael Jonin


1.) Cross My Heart
2.) Breathe In, Breathe Out
3.) Desert Horse
4.) Var Har Du Vart
5.) Quand Les Larmes D’un Ange Font Danser La Neige
6.) Visions Of Someone Special, On A Wall Of Reflections
7.) Shirim