M83 shares 8-bit and new video game

M83 shares 8-bit remix of "Go" and new video game, via mute Records and Microsoft.

“Go!,” has been re-worked into an 8-bit remix via a collaboration with Microsoft, inspired by Anthony Gonzalez’s love of retro video games. Exploring new frontiers of interactive art and music, Microsoft engaged a team of up-and-coming developers to build a web game experience inspired by the 8-bit remix.

The online game experience, “Meet Me At Go!,” takes fans on an unexpected journey through the song as they race through a retro-futuristic cityscape, dodging obstacles and collecting objects in pursuit of their love. The experience draws inspiration from the 8-bit world and the aesthetic of classic arcade games, as well as pulling in themes of longing, searching and racing from the song itself.

“Go!” 8-bit remix is featured on the new “Go!” Remixes EP, a set of blissful reimaginings for winter nights, including remixes by Scottish DJ/musician/producer KC Lights, J.Laser – the creative moniker of M83’s touring bassist/multi-instrumentalist Jordan Lawlor, + the previously released Animal Collective/Deakin remix. Also included is a a Fabich remix of “Bibi the Dog” and a C. Duncan remix of “Solitude.” Full tracklisting below. Listen to the “Go!” remix EP HERE.

“Go!” 8-bit remix will also be featured on the “Go!” 12”, to be released on April 14 2017. This Blue Vinyl 12” features an unreleased B-side, “Altered Love”, also featuring Mai Lan.

Anthony recently announced he will embark on an exciting new artistic chapter as the composer and musical director for the famed Cirque du Soleil’s latest production, “Volta”. “Volta” will be presented under the Big Top in Montreal’s Old Port beginning April 20, 2017.

“Go!” Remixes Digital EP Tracklisting:
1) “Go!” feat. Mai Lan
2) “Go!” feat. Mai Lan (KC Lights Remix)
3) “Go!” feat. Mai Lan (J. Laser Remix)
4) “Go!” feat. Mai Lan (Animal Collective/Deakin Remix)
5) “Go!” (8-bit Version)
6) “Bibi the Dog” feat. Mai Lan (Fabich Remix)
7) “Solitude” (C. Duncan Remix)

“Go!” Remixes Blue Vinyl 12” Tracklisting
A1) “Go!” feat. Mai Lan
A2) “Altered Love” feat. Mai Lan
B1) “Go!” feat. Mai Lan (Animal Collective/Deakin Remix)
B2) “Go!” (8-bit Version)

Play it now or download it from the Windows Store. Check out a gameplay video of the game HERE.


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.