Lucy Dacus Debuts “Brando”

Matador recording artist Lucy Dacus, has shared a visualizer for "Brando," the track is off her LP Home Video, which drops on 25, 2021
Lucy Dacus "Brando"

Matador recording artist Lucy Dacus, has shared a visualizer for “Brando,” the track is off her forthcoming release Home Video, which drops on 25, 2021. The track follows previous singles “VBS,” “Hot & Heavy,” and “Thumbs.” “”Brando” refers to a very dramatic friend I had in high school whose whole personality was the media he consumed,” says Dacus. “He showed me a lot of amazing movies and music, but I think he was more interested in using me as a scrapbook of his own tastes than actually getting to know me. He claimed to know me better than anyone else but I started to feel like all he wanted from me was to be a scene partner in the movie of his life.”

Home Video is Dacus’ “most personal album to date, recounting her coming of age, in Richmond, Virginia. She sings about lost friendships, queer love affairs, curfews, and other adolescent pursuits” (New Yorker). It displays her ability to use the personal as portal into the universal as the songs capture that specific moment in time growing up where emotions and relationships start becoming more complex — the joys, the excitement, the confusion, and even the heartbreak of going through the process of discovering who you are and where people fit in your life and where you fit in theirs. Dacus’ voice, both audible and on the page, has a healer’s power to soothe and ground and reckon.

Following several dates supporting Bright Eyes in July, Dacus will tour North America in support of Home Video beginning with two hometown shows in Richmond.

Additionally, today kicks off a “Brando” video contest. Participants can send in a video of themselves dancing (or skateboarding, ice skating, roller blading, etc.) to the track for a chance to be in the official music video. All skill levels are welcome and more details can be found at https://lucydacus.com/brando.

Lucy Dacus
Tour Dates
(new shows in bold)

Wed. June 23 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheater @
Tue. July 27 – Lewiston, NY @ Artpark Amphitheater !
Wed. July 28 – New Haven, CT @ Westville Music Bowl !
Thu. July 29th – Bethlehem, PA @ Levitt Pavilion SteelStacks !
Fri. July 30 – Worcester, MA @ Palladium (Outdoors) !
Sat. July 31 – Queens, NY @ Forest Hills Stadium !
Tue. Aug. 3 – Charlottesville, VA @ Sprint Pavillion !
Wed. Aug. 4 – Raleigh, NC @ Red Hat Amphitheater !
Thu. Aug. 5 – Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit !
Fri. Aug. 6 – Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern !
Sun. Aug. 8 – Birmingham, AL @ Sloss Furnace !
Fri. Sept. 10 – Richmond, VA @ The National &^^
Sat. Sept. 11 – Richmond, VA @ The National &% – SOLD OUT
Mon. Sept. 13 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom %
Tue. Sept. 14 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West %
Wed. Sept. 15 – Nashville, TN @ Brooklyn Bowl %
Fri. Sept. 17 – Dallas, TX @ Trees %
Sat. Sept. 18 – Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall – Downstairs %
Sun. Sept. 19 – Austin, TX @ Scoot Inn %
Mon. Sept. 20 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger %
Wed. Sept. 22 – Tucson, AZ @ 191 Toole %
Fri. Sept. 24 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Theatre at Ace Hotel %
Sat. Sept. 25 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory OC +
Mon. Sept. 27 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore %
Thu. Sept. 30 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre $
Fri. Oct. 1 – Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom $ – SOLD OUT
Sat. Oct. 2 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre $ – SOLD OUT
Tue. Oct. 5 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge $
Wed. Oct. 6 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater $
Fri. Oct. 8 – Iowa City, IA @ The Englert Theatre $
Sat. Oct. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue $
Mon. Oct. 11 – Chicago, IL @ The Vic Theatre
Tue. Oct. 12 – Columbus , OH @ Newport Music Hall $
Thu. Oct. 14 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House $
Fri. Oct. 15 – Montreal, QC @ L’Astral $
Sat. Oct. 16 – Boston, MA @ House of Blues $
Mon. Oct. 18 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground $
Wed. Oct. 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer ^
Fri. Oct. 22 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club $ – SOLD OUT
Sat. Oct. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club #
Mon. Oct. 25 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel – SOLD OUT
Tue. Oct. 26 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel

%= Bachelor supporting
$ = Bartees Strange supporting
^ = Shamir supporting
#= Laura Stevenson supporting
^^=Thao supporting
&= with Julien Baker
@=supporting Shakey Graves
!=supporting Bright Eyes
+=Miya Folick supporting