“Love is Everywhere” Yellow Days

Yellow Days, recently shared “Treat You Right.” With the details, Yellow Days has shared details of his forthcoming release A Day in a Yellow Beat, out on August 7th. The Kevin Lombardo directed video, which features Yellow Days taking centre stage. His music is described as a woozy mixture of soul, blues, psych, and groove leaking through the walls of a jazz lounge that’s come unstuck in time but ultimately, Yellow Days is a project about youth.

Yellow Days is a self-taught multi-instrumentalist and self-medicated auteur who has never quite fitted into one style or space. As he readies his new album, his sound continues to warp funky, while his words dig deeper into modern malaise and mental health. It is, as he says, “Upbeat existential millennial crisis music.”

On his current musical direction, the multi-artist explains: “I’m trying to brand my own version of ironic dance music full of depressing truths about feeling distant from your friends, or a sense that nothing is worth anything.” In particular he’s been diving into the ’70s: fusion-era works of Herbie Hancock and Quincy Jones, the funkier phases of Marvin Gaye and Curtis Mayfield, and the keyboard wizardry of Don Blackman and Weldon Irvine.

Having previously released music produced out of his garden shed in Surrey, Yellow Days has spent a lot of time writing and recording this current wave of music in LA with a whole host of artists and musicians including Raphael Saadiq, Frank Ocean, Weldon Irvine, Kanye West.

Yellow Days
A Day in a Yellow Beat
Sony U.K./RCA Records
August 7, 2020

1. Intro
2. Be Free
3. Let You Know
4. (The Outsider)
5. Who’s There? (feat. Shirley Jones)
6. Getting Closer
7. Come Groove (Interlude)
8. Keep Yourself Alive
9. Open Your Eyes (feat. Shirley Jones & Nick Walters)
10. ! (feat. Bishop Nehru)
11. (Pot Party)
12. Keeps Me Satisfied
13. You
14. (What Goes Up Must Come Down)
15. The Curse (feat. Mac Demarco)
16. Let’s Be Good To Each Other
17. Whatever You Wanna Do
18. Something Special (Interlude)
19. So Lost
20. I Don’t Mind
21. (Mature Love)
22. Treat You Right
23. Love Is Everywhere