Lost Horizons “Every Beat That Passed” Ft: Kavi Kwai

Lost Horizons is comprised of Cocteau Twins’ Simon Raymonde & Richie Thomas of Dif Juz. The duo have released a Jonathan Caouette-directed music video entitled “Every Beat That Passed”, featuring Swedish singer and producer Kavi Kwai on lead vocals. In Quiet Moments will be released in two parts via Raymonde’s own label, Bella Union. The first part will be out later this week and the second on February 26th, when the 16-track album will be physically released, as well.

Simon Raymonde of Lost Horizons on the new single:

“Richie came up with the piano part for this and it grabbed my attention immediately. That ‘waltz’ rhythm is pretty much in my DNA from my Cocteaus days, and the other instrumentation just kinda flowed out in a rush of emotion and memory. Discovering Kavi Kwai was akin to roaming the beaches of Bognor with a defective metal detector and discovering a whopping blue diamond. She is from Sweden and on hearing her music, I vowed to create a track especially for her. When I received her vocal back, I had that unusual experience of simultaneously laughing and crying at the same time. Laughing because I couldn’t believe how incredible it was, and crying because she turned our tune into a beautifully sad song which really moved me. Still does to be honest.”

Kavi Kwai adds:

“The feeling that came to me when I first heard the instrumental version was that it felt very hopeful. Hope always has an undertone of something heavy or dark – otherwise we wouldn’t need it. When I wrote the melodies and the lyrics I stayed in that mode, I wanted to capture the combination of dark and light.”

Of the video Caouette, who also directed the video for Lost Horizon’s song “Cordelia” featuring John Grant, says:

“Through the work I did on the videos, I began feeling that ‘Cordelia’ represented memory, loss, melancholy, and how inescapable impermanence is and that ‘Every Beat that Passed’ represented the antithesis of those ideas: the promise of resetting and renewal, and the hope that not all is lost, even under the hardest of circumstances. So, even though they have two distinct feelings they also work together as two different perspectives, yin and yang etc.”

Lost Horizons

Part 1:
1. Halcyon – Lost Horizons feat. Penelope Isles
2. I Woke Up With An Open Heart – Lost Horizons. feat. The Hempolics
3. Grey Tower – Lost Horizons feat. Tim Smith
4. Linger – Lost Horizons feat. Gemma Dunleavy
5. One For Regret – Lost Horizons feat. Porridge Radio
6. Every Beat That Passed – Lost Horizons feat. Kavi Kwai
7. Nobody Knows My Name – Lost Horizons feat. Cameron Neal
8. Cordelia – Lost Horizons feat. John Grant

Part 2:
9. In Quiet Moments – Lost Horizons feat. Ural Thomas
10. Circle – Lost Horizons feat. C Duncan
11. Unravelling In Slow Motion – Lost Horizons feat. Ren Harvieu
12. Blue Soul – Lost Horizons feat. Laura Groves
13. Flutter – Lost Horizons feat. Rosie Blair
14. Marie – Lost Horizons feat. Marissa Nadler
15. Heart Of A Hummingbird – Lost Horizons feat. KookieLou
16. This Is The Weather – Lost Horizons feat. Karen Peris

Pre-order the album, which features a stellar array of musical guests including Porridge Radio, Marissa Nadler, Penelope Isles, Tim Smith of Midlake, C Duncan, Ren Harvieu, and more.