Loney Dear announces new full-length

Loney Dear announces new full-length.

Loney dear, aka Emil Svanängen, has announced the details of his first album in six years. The self-titled release is due out September 29th via Peter Gabriel’s Real World Records. Gabriel has coined him “Europe’s answer to Brian Wilson.” To complement the album announcement Loney dear has also released a new track entitled “Sum.”

For over 15 years, Emil Svanängen has been making a name for music under the name Loney dear. First from his Stockholm apartment studio, burning three homemade albums with a minidisk microphone and a home computer, and then with three albums released via Sub Pop.

On this new body of work, Loney dear’s music has undergone a rebirth and Svanängen feels he’s reached a new chapter. “It’s been a little bit like being out on the ocean swimming without anything to hold on to and now I’ve reached the beach. There is a certain new blackness in the music, I have learned to make my inner darkness more visible to people because I don’t want to seem lighter than I am.”

Five years in the making, Loney dear draws inspiration from the jazz rhythms of Nina Simone, the stripped back intimacy and compositional style of Bon Iver, and the more electronic side of John Grant’s work as well as hurdles Svanängen’s overcame in his personal life.

In July, Loney dear will preview new music at the UK’s WOMAD festival in Charlton Park (July 29) before embarking on a European tour this fall. Loney dear plans to announce more live soon.

Loney dear

1. Pun
2. Humbug
3. Hulls
4. Sum
5. Lilies
6. Little Jacket
7. Isn’t It You
8. Dark Light
9. Harbours
10. There Are Several Alberts Here