Listen to Amber Arcades’ “Fading Lines”

Listen to Amber Arcades' "Fading Lines", the track comes off her Debut LP

Amber Arcades—the moniker of Dutch musician Annelotte de Graaf has shared the self-titled track from her forthcoming debut album, Fading Lines (out June 3rd on Heavenly Recordings). Check out the tune below.

Recorded at Strange Weather Studio in New York with producer Ben Greenberg (The Men, Beach Fossils, Destruction Unit), Fading Lines was inspired by time, continuity, coincidence and magic. Other inspirations include early-morning jetlag (‘Turning Light’) and an artist’s plans for a utopian city (‘Constant’s Dream’). Although this sounds dreamy in nature (and these songs do posses a seamless, ethereal quality), De Graaf’s dreams are not necessarily rooted in whimsy. In fact they have led to her working as a legal aide on UN war crime tribunals (she currently works in human rights law people who had fled Syria), to inviting strangers to share her Utrecht squat (which led to a friendship and later to her signing to Heavenly), and to spending her life savings on a flight to New York because that’s where she wanted to record her first album.

After researching producers and deciding to work with Greenberg (“the odd one out as he’d produced all this hardcore punk shit”), Annelotte was joined by Shane Butler and Keven Lareau of Quilt on guitar and bass, Jackson Pollis of Real Estate on drums, plus Meg Duffy on slide guitar on the eerie, clip-clopping “Apophenia”. They listened to “a lot of Suicide, Broadcast, Stereolab, Yo La Tengo, The Gun Club…” and worked on the songs that Annelotte had written at home in Utrecht.

“In New York everything came together beautifully,” says De Graaf. “The whole team, the producer and the band. It was a magical time – writing an album had been an abstract thing in my mind and recording it in New York had been a wild, surreal plan. It never really occurred to me that it would happen until I sat on the plane. I had this money in my savings account and I thought, I’m going to make an album.”

Amber Arcades’ recording band is as follows: Shane Butler (Quilt) on guitar, Keven Lareau (Quilt) on bass, and Jackson Pollis (Real Estate) on drums.

Fading Lines Tracklisting:

1. Come With Me

2. Constant’s Dream

3. Fading Lines

4. I Will Follow

5. Perpetuum Mobile

6. Right Now

7. Apophenia

8. This Time

9. Turning Light

10. White Fuzz