Lil Silva Collaborates With Skiifall On “What If?”

Lil Silva Collaborates With Skiifall On "What If?" Along with Leave It (feat. Charlotte Day Wilson). The tracks are now available via DSPs
Lil Silva Collaborates With Skiifall On "What If?"

Lil Silva unveils two very different collaborations from Yesterday Is Heavy in the form of “What If?” featuring Skiifall and “Leave It” featuring Charlotte Day Wilson. “What If?” plays into the hands of Skiifall’s culture clashing rap stylings perfectly. Set to a bubbling garage inflected rhythm, Skiifall’s patois imbued flow merges with an instrumental that takes all the boisterousness of UK club music and fuses it with samples that refer back to the Caribbean roots of the genres that infiltrate contemporary nightlife.

Speaking on the new track, Lil Silva says, “I really channelled inspiration from our roots on this record. You can hear the reggae, bashment and grime influence weave in and out. It’s about the course we find ourselves on without even thinking, how love and family plays a huge role in our life but staying grounded and never forgetting what got us here.”

In contrast to “What If?,” “Leave It” finds Skiifall’s Canadian compatriot Charlotte Day Wilson employing her own silken tones to duet with Silva in one of the album’s smoothest tracks. The track pairs two of modern soul’s most captivating voices, complementing each other while elevating their own sound simultaneously. At once a Sade-indebted example of throwback soul as well as a hypnotic electronic R&B hit – “Leave It” is a significant example of Yesterday Is Heavy’s unique production techniques. Splicing organic instrumentation alongside the natural harmonics of Silva and Day Wilson, the track also introduces rubberband-esque 808s and rumbling bass tones; gradually unfurling to present a mid-tempo dance rhythm that expands the track’s sonic horizons way beyond what is expected.

Sharing some additional background on the track, Lil Silva says, “It’s about being in the now! There’s no need to worry, at least don’t worry about anything for too long. The clouds of doubts that hover over you in life and in love sometimes feel like you’ll never move out of but however grey and however challenging there is a way to get through it. It’s too easy to get caught up in everything around you.. this song is a message about celebrating what’s in-front of you… the now.”

Lil Silva
Yesterday Is Heavy
July 15th, 2022

1. Another Sketch
2. Be Cool (feat. Little Dragon)
3. Vera (Judah Speaks)
4. Leave It (feat. Charlotte Day Wilson)
5. September
6. To The Floor (feat. BADBADNOTGOOD)
7. Backwards (feat. Sampha)
8. What If? (feat. Skiifall)
9. Colours
10. About Us (feat. Elmiene)
11. Still (feat. Sampha & Ghetts)
12. Ends Now (feat. serpentwithfeet)

Order Yesterday Is Heavy by Lil Silva HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.