Lil Silva Announces Yesterday is Heavy LP

Lil Silva Announces New Album Yesterday Is Heavy, along with the news, the multi-artist has shared the lead-track "Another Sketch"
Lil Silva Announces New Album Yesterday Is Heavy

Lil Silva is known for his production credits with Adele, BANKS, Mark Ronson and serpentwithfeet. After the release of “Backwards” last month alongside Sampha, Lil Silva announces his debut album, Yesterday Is Heavy.

Along with the album’s announcement, Silva has shared the new single “Another Sketch” with a visual directed by UKMVA Award winner Fenn O’Meally. The video centers on multiple generations of Silva’s own family and their Jamaican heritage, proving that despite time’s effect on outward appearance, it can never dampen the spirit, featuring archival and newly recorded footage of Silva’s family and friends enjoying the same activities they did generations ago.

Yesterday Is Heavy is the cumulative product of an expansive career of collaborations and solo material, while finally acknowledging the spotlight with a fully-realized sound of his own. Silva’s debut is about stepping outside of a comfort zone, and, outside of himself. It’s an album of heft and heart, but most of all hope – and trusting the process that led him to this point. Buoyed by the encouragement of long-time collaborators like Jamie Woon and Sampha early in his career (they both implored him to commit his own voice to record), and bolstered by experiences working alongside Mark Ronson, Adele and more, the Lil Silva story is now coming full circle. Created primarily in the town he grew up in (and continues to live now), the pervading solace of home courses through the project, while providing the thrilling moments of sleight of hand that Silva has always been capable of.

The album sees Lil Silva share the spotlight with a cast of guests, including Sampha, Ghetts, and Little Dragon, serpentwithfeet, Charlotte Day Wilson and Montreal’s Skiifall.

Lil Silva
Yesterday Is Heavy
July 15th, 2022

1. Another Sketch
2. Be Cool (feat. Little Dragon)
3. Vera (Judah Speaks)
4. Leave It (feat. Charlotte Day Wilson)
5. September
6. To The Floor (feat. BADBADNOTGOOD)
7. Backwards (feat. Sampha)
8. What If? (feat. Skiifall)
9. Colours
10. About Us (feat. Elmiene)
11. Still (feat. Sampha & Ghetts)
12. Ends Now (feat. serpentwithfeet)


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.