“Lights Out” Deep Sea Diver

Deep Sea Diver has announced Impossible Weight, will drop on October 16, via High Beam Records (distributed by ATO Records). Along with the announcement, the group — led by Seattle’s Jessica Dobson (once the lead guitarist for Beck, The Shins and many more) — has shared the video for new single “Lights Out,” which was created by Dobson herself.

Following a year featuring tours with Wilco and Joseph, Deep Sea Diver has hardly stayed quiet. In April the band released “Stop Pretending,” a single born of their weekly live-streamed performances from their home studio during the initial period of social isolation. Look out for new music coming soon, including a track with a very special assist from one Sharon Van Etten.

From Jessica Dobson:

“We went into the studio pretty quickly after the tour ended, and I sort of hit a wall where I was feeling very detached from making music, and unable to find joy in it,” says the vocalist/multi-instrumentalist, whose bandmates include her husband Peter Mansen (drums), Garrett Gue (bass), and Elliot Jackson (guitar, synth). “I realized I had to try to rediscover my voice as a songwriter, and figure out the vocabulary for what I needed to say on this album.”

Co-produced by Dobson and Andy D. Park (Pedro the Lion, Ruler) and mainly recorded at Seattle’s Studio X and The Hall of Justice. “’I’d never produced a record before and I started out with low expectations for myself, but at some point I realized, ‘I can do this,’” Dobson recalls. “I decided to completely trust my voice and make really bold decisions in all my production calls—just push everything to the absolute outer edges.”


1. Shattering The Hourglass
2. Lights Out
3. Wishing
4. Impossible Weight (feat. Sharon Van Etten)
5. Switchblade
6. Hurricane
7. Eyes Are Red (Don’t Be Afraid)
8. People Come People Go
9. Lightning Bolts
10. Run Away With Me