“Laps Around The Sun” By Merk

“Laps Around The Sun" By Merk is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day, the track is off the New Zealand artist's LP Infinite Youth
Merk photo by Lily Paris West

Merk AKA: Mark Perkins is THE Auckland, New Zealand artist, multi-instrumentalist and producer who began his career as a touring member of Tom Lark and Fazerdaze. Today, the multi-artist has shared “Laps Around The Sun.” The song/video arrives ahead of his LP Infinite Youth due out April 9, 2021 Humblebrag Records.

“Laps Around The Sun” is the record’s thesis-statement. What may immediately strike a listener as introspective cynicism morphs into celestial acceptance, finding circularity and reprisal as infinitely compelling tools in moving forward. He muses: “This song is about finding poetry in the mundane, repetitiveness of life. It was written on my birthday, which is also Valentine’s Day. Whether you are waiting for the weekend or celebrating another lap around the sun, or falling in and out of love or doing the dishes there’s beauty to be found in the never-ending repetitions and rhythms of life. By sheer coincidence we ended up filming the video on my birthday too, so it was natural for it to become about that. We made it very guerilla style with a small crew of friends, it felt super wholesome and very meta.”

Infinite Youth
Track List

1. H.N.Y.B
2. GOD
3. American Parties
4. Laps Around the Sun
5. Something New
6. Canoe Song
7. My Love
8. Deep Dive
9. Happiness
10. But She Loves You
11. Infinite Youth

Merk learned the craft of recording and producing under the stewardship of Crowded House’s (and now Fleetwood Mac’s!) Neil Finn while working at Roundhead Studios. His debut album Swordfish went on to win Best Debut Album at the Taite Music Prize (New Zealand’s equivalent of the Mercury or Polaris Prize), and led to tours with Cub Sport, Marlon Williams and Julia Jacklin in Australia and New Zealand.

Pre=order Infinite Youth by Merk via Humblebrag Records HERE


Northern Transmissions 'Song of the Day' is “H.N.Y.B." by Merk.

“H.N.Y.B.” Merk