Lala Lala Shares New Single “Utopia Planet”

Lala Lala Shares New Single "Utopia Planet." The song is now available via Hardly Art. Lala Lala begins her tour on October 8, in Chicago
Lala Lala photo by Michael Schmelling

Lala Lala, has shared new single/video “Utopia Planet.” The track is off the Chicago artist’s LP I Want The Door To Open, which drops on October 8, via Hardly Art. The single features saxophone by Sen Morimoto, as a recording of West’s grandmother unfurls across the track. The video, created by Meggie van Zwieten, is in step with the digital aesthetic presented on the album cover.

“‘Utopia Planet’ was born because my friend Kara Jackson and I challenged each other to write a song about ‘Utopia,’” says Lillie West AKA Lala Lala. “I tried to imagine a great expanse, abundance, an open door. It’s an invitation to surrender. I used a recording of my grandmother to take you further into another world.”

To celebrate the release of I Want The Door To Open, West will play a string of shows, including a release day performance at Chicago’s Thalia Hall this Friday and Los Angeles and New York dates later this month. Following a European run in early 2022, West will return stateside and continue to tour.

Lala Lala
Live Dates

Fri. Oct. 8 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
Wed. Oct. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room ^
Wed. Oct. 20 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg!
Thu. Jan. 27, 2022 – Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso Noord
Fri. Jan. 28, 2022 – Groningen, NE @ Vera
Sat. Jan. 29, 2022 – Brugge, BE @ Cactus at Villa Bota
Sun. Jan. 30, 2022 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Rotonde)
Tue. Feb. 1, 2022 – Köln, DE @ Baumann & SOHN
Wed. Feb. 2, 2022 – Berlin, DE @ Kantine am Berghain
Thu. Feb. 3, 2022 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Sat. Feb. 5, 2022 – Göteborg, SE @ Oceanen
Sun. Feb. 6, 2022 – Oslo, NO @ Internasjonalen
Mon. Feb. 7, 2022 – Stockholm, SE @ Hus 7
Tue. Feb. 8, 2022 – Malmö, SE @ Plan B
Wed. Feb. 9, 2022 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega at Ideal Bar
Fri. Feb. 11, 2022 – Prague, CZ @ Underdogs’
Sat. Feb. 12, 2022 – Schorndorf, DE @ Club Manufaktur
Sun. Feb. 13, 2022 – Freiburg, DE @ Swamp
Mon. Feb. 14, 2022 – Yverdon-les-Bains, CH @ L’Amalgame
Wed. Feb. 16, 2022 – Zürich, CH @ Rote Fabrik
Thu. Feb. 17, 2022 – Annecy, FR @ Festival Hors-Pistes
Fri. Feb. 18, 2022 – Metz, FR @ Aérogare
Sat. Feb. 19, 2022 – Lille, FR @ l’Aéronef
Sun. Feb. 20, 2022 – Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store
Mon. Feb. 21, 2022 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Wed. Feb. 23, 2022 – Leeds, UK @ Hyde Park Book Club
Thu. Feb. 24, 2022 – Glasgow, UK @ Nice N Sleazy
Fri. Feb. 25, 2022 – Manchester, UK @ YES
Sat. Feb. 26, 2022 – Bristol, UK @ Strange Brew
Mon. Feb. 28, 2022 – Paris, FR @ La Boule Noire
Sat. Mar. 12 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Mon. Mar. 14 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Tue. Mar. 15 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Wed. Mar. 16 – Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Fri. Mar. 18 – Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile (Second Stage)
Sat. Mar. 19 – Vancouver, BC @ Fox Cabaret
Sun. Mar. 20 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Mar. 22 – Oakland, CA @ Starline Social Club
Fri. Mar. 25 – San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar
Sat. Mar. 26 – Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
Sun. Mar. 27 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Mon. Mar. 28 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Wed. Mar. 30 – Austin, TX @ The Parish
Thu. Mar. 31 – Fort Worth, TX @ Tulips
Sat. Apr. 2 – Indianapolis, IN @ HI-FI
Sun. Apr. 3 – Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo Coffee
Wed. Apr. 13 – Davenport, IA @ Raccoon Motel
Thu. Apr. 14 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Fri. Apr. 15 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
Sat. Apr. 16 – Urbana, IL @ Rose Bowl Tavern
Sun. Apr. 17 – Nashville, TN @ High Watt
Tue. Apr. 19 – Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5
Wed. Apr. 20 – Durham, NC @ Motorco Music Hall
Fri. Apr. 22 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Foundry
Sat. Apr. 23 – Woodstock, NY @ Colony
Sun. Apr. 24 @ Washington, DC @ Black Cat
Wed. Apr. 27 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Thu. Apr. 28 – Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place
Fri. Apr. 29 – Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Sat. Apr. 30 – Hamtramck, MI @ Outer Limits Lounge

* = w/ Divino Niño & Kara Jackson
^ = Baths (DJ Set) & Fashion Club
! = Salt Cathedral & Crosslegged

Pre-order I Want The Door To Open by Lala Lala HERE