Ladyhawke announces ‘Wild Things’ LP

Ladyhawke 3rd Studio LP 'Wild Things' Out June 3rd via Polyvinyl Records

Ladyhawke aka Pip Brown has returned with her third studio album Wild Things, to be released on June 3 via Polyvinyl Records. Strapped with earworm hooks, shimmering synths, rib rattling beats and anchored by quivering title track which is an airy paean to cleaning up and settling down, the record is less about past demons and more a catalyst of what’s to come.

“Let It Roll” recalls Brown’s familiar stomp and sass, amplified by crisp percussion and synths that are crunchier than ever. Soulful ballad “Wild Things” sets the exhilarating tone for other deep-dives into relationships, such as “A Love Song,” a sweeping, reverberating revelation with an infectious chorus that dares listeners not to sing along. “A Love Song” pixel art animated lyric video, created by Paul Robertson (The Simpsons), was revealed today.

On connecting with Paul Robertson through Twitter, Pip explains, “I was watching The Simpsons one day and was blown away by a particular couch gag scene. You know the bit at the very beginning of The Simpsons where they all run to the couch? Well sometimes they get guest artists to interpret that scene in their own style. This particular one I was watching all of a sudden transformed into this mind blowing trippy pixel art sequence. It completely blew me away, so much so that I watched it over and over on YouTube. He’s an incredibly talented artist, his use of colour and dreamy repetitious sequences are a perfect fit for my music.“

Brown’s conviction to organic authenticity led her on this third album journey which started back in 2013. She scrapped a full album’s worth of material before taking around a year to craft the blissed-out Wild Things with producer Tommy English (Børns, Tiësto, Dark Waves), whom she met through her L.A. neighbor, tattoo artist/musician Kat Von D.

Wild Things Tracklist

1. A Love Song
2. The River
3. Wild Things
4. Let It Roll
5. Chills
6. Sweet Fascination
7. Golden Girl
8. Hillside Avenue
9. Money To Burn
10. Wonderland
11. Dangerous