Indie supergroup Klaus stream new album

Klaus streams debut self-titled album. The band play their next show on September 2nd in Montreal,

Klaus, is the new Montreal indie supergroup, which features members François Lafontaine (Karkwa, Galaxie), Joe Grass (Patrick Watson), and drummer Samuel Joly. The band has already shared the lead-track “Fever”. The album will be officially released on September 7th via Simone Records (Hubert Lenoir, Camaromance, Ariane Moffatt). Klaus will also be playing Montreal’s Mile Ex End festival which also includes The Barr Brothers, Broken Social Scene, Charlotte Day Wilson and more on September 2nd in Montreal.

Two weeks after their inital meeting, the members of Klaus regrouped at Grass’s studio and began recording under a commonly discussed but often unrealized formula: no rules and no pre-established directions to follow. Instead, they dug up fragments of unfinished ideas, the ones left behind because they couldn’t find the right collaborators to indulge in their time-traveling, globe-spanning experimentation. Drawing on influences ranging from Afrobeat guitars to Can’s krautrock propulsion to the avant-rock of Brian Eno and David Bowie’s ‘Berlin Trilogy’, they approached their music with the mindset of improv comedians or easy-going chefs.

Klaus on their debut self-titled album:

“We Klaus, hereby declare, that we have made a record. We set out on this quest because our humble trinity of musical brethren had a strong desire to create something collectively. We sat at roundtables, drinking the sweet nectar of life for many a fortnight dreaming of how we could best accomplish this. After our long journey, we offer you the fruits of our experimentation, contemplation and tomfoolery. We are grateful that your curiosity has led you to us. Now we are one.”

Simone Records

1. Neon
2. Fever
3. Blue Telephone
4. Can’t Turn Back
5. The Aluminoid
6. Bad Religion
7. Le rêve
8. Dirty Water
9. Pit Bull
10. Nature Desig

Tour Dates

September 2nd – Mile Ex End – Montreal, QC
September 6th – Aire Commune (Album Launch) – Montreal, QC

Klaus’s self-titled debut album will be released by Simone Records on September 7th. It is now available to pre-order here.