Kiwi Jr. Announce New Album ‘Chopper’

Kiwi Jr. release their new album Chopper, on August 12, via Sub Pop. Ahead of the release, the band have shared a video for "Night Vision"
Kiwi Jr. photo by Ben Rayner

Kiwi Jr. will release their new album, Chopper on August 12, via Sub Pop Records. The full length was produced by Dan Boeckner (Wolf Parade, Divine Fits, Handsome Furs), and follows their previous LP Cooler Returns. The band is comprised of Jeremy Gaudet vocals and guitar, Brian Murphy guitar, Mike Walker bass, Brohan Moore drums, and everybody played a little bit of keyboard. The Canadian band, start their tour on May 28, in Hamilton, Ontario. Ahead of the release, Kiwi Jr. have shared a Laura-Lynn Petrick (Weyes Blood) directed video for “Night Vision.”

Singer/guitarist Jeremy Gaudet offers this, “Before ‘Night Vision’ was 100% written, just the basic idea of it existing as a Kiwi Jr. song inspired us and set the tone for the record. A lot of the images in the lyrics are of teenagers driving around, trying to make plans, sharing the aux, putting their parents’ car in the ditch, etc.  But the idea at the center of the song is that of working up the nerve to make a big decision. Like a boxer getting pumped up before a fight.”

Kiwi Jr.
2022 Tour Dates

Sat. May 28 – Hamilton, ON – Mills Hardware *
Fri. Jun. 17 – Detroit, MI – Third Man Records *
Sat. Jun. 18 – Chicago, IL – Schubas *
Sat. Jun. 25 – Toronto, ON – Horseshoe Tavern
Fri. Jul. 22 – Montreal, QC – Bar le Ritz PDB *
Sat. Jul. 23 – Ottawa, ON – SAW Gallery *
Thu. Jul. 28 – Brooklyn, NY – Baby’s All Right *
Fri. Jul. 29 – Rehoboth Beach, DE – Dogfish Head Brewing *
Sat. Jul. 30 – Washington, DC – Songbird Music House *
Sun. Jul. 31 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s *
Fri. Sep. 16 – Paris, France – La Boule Noire
Sun. Sep. 18 – Lille, France – L’ Aeronef
Mon. Sep. 19 – London, England – Victoria Dalston [SOLD OUT]
Tue. Sep. 20 – London, England – 100 Club
Wed. Sep. 21 – Brussels, Belgium – Witloofbar Botanique
Thu. Sep. 22 – Nijmegen, Netherlands – Merleyn
Sat. Sep. 24 – Eindhoven, Netherlands – Stoomhuisje
Sun. Sep. 25 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Paradiso

* w/ Weird Nightmare

Pre-order Chopper by Kiwi Jr. HERE