King Gizzard and The Lizard Wizard “Trapdoor”

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard's single "Trapdoor"

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard come to us today with the single “Trapdoor” from their upcoming album, Paper Mâché Dream Balloon, which will be released on the 13th of November by ATO Records.

Starting in 2010 as a garage rock group, Melbourne’s King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard follow their collective muse wherever it chooses to lead them. For their latest opus, Paper Mâché Dream Balloon, they initially thought it was going to be filled with the darker, heavier material that the band has been playing live of late. But front man Stu Mackenzie soon decided that it was time to put aside the longer, more conceptual pieces and go in a completely new direction.

Having just finished a whirlwind US tour – beginning at LA’s FYF Fest and ending with a headlining show at New York’s Music Hall of Williamsburg.

On previous records King Gizzard has channeled many different sounds: From heavily distorted, kraut-driven rock on their 2014 album I’m In Your Mind Fuzz to expansive, almost jazzy, Dead-like head trips on Quarters! Or as Mackenzie puts it, “I always wanted to be a band where you would expect the unexpected each time, with each album being treated like a different phase.”

Hence, the band’s seventh album was recorded using nothing but acoustic instruments. Mackenzie elaborated on this with: “Acoustic guitars, flute, double bass, fiddle, harmonica, drum kit, clarinet. Whatever we could find really.”The result is a lovely, lilting pop masterpiece that still evokes the same intoxicating exuberance as KGATLW’s most recent work, but with a more pastoral, communal feel to it.

Paper Mâché Dream Balloon’s Track Listing:
01.) Sense
02.) Bone
03.) Dirt
04.) Paper Mâché Dream Balloon
05.) Trap Door
06.) Cold Cadaver
07.) The Bitter Boogie
08.) N.G.R.I. (Bloodstain)
09.) Time = Fate
10.) Time = $$$
11.) Most of What I Like
12.) Paper Mâché