Kevin Morby drops video for “OMG Rock n Roll”

Kevin Morby has shared a new video for, Oh My God, album track "OMG Rock n Roll."
Kevin Morby "OMG Rock n Roll"

Kevin Morby has shared a new video for, Oh My God, album track “OMG Rock n Roll.” Fans of Morby may hear familiar words throughout the new song, as it borrows from his 2016 single “Beautiful Strangers,” “the song that initially planted the seed for what would become Oh My God, which comes out on April 26th via Dead Oceans.

Kevin Morby on “OMG Rock n Roll”

“It’s meant to be playful, despite the morbid subject matter, and sing sonic praise to rock n roll as a religious experience. More than anything – it’s [a song] about gun violence in America. Sutherland Springs, Vegas, Parkland…the list gets longer each year, filled with more cities, more innocent victims and yet nothings fundamentally changed. It’s a sad, scary and ultimately incredibly frustrating affair. We’ve all made peace with the fact that every time we leave the house we could be senselessly murdered at the hands of someone who should never have been given that power. The song is meant to mirror a public tragedy with its hard pan to the choir almost two minutes in. It’s rolling along, living it’s best life, when suddenly, with a gasp, reality has been turned upside down and all there’s left to do is pray to god you don’t die.”

Kevin Morby
Live 2019

Wed. May 8, 2019 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Theatre at Ace Hotel *
Fri. May 10, 2019 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst (Live in the Atrium) *
Sat. May 11, 2019 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *
Mon. May 13, 2019 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom *
Tue. May 14, 2019 – Seattle, WA @ The Showbox *
Wed. May 15, 2019 – Vancouver, BC @ Imperial Vancouver * SOLD OUT
Fri. May 17, 2019 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room *
Sat. May 18, 2019 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird Theater * SOLD OUT
Fri. May 31, 2019 – New York, NY @ Town Hall *
Sat. June 1, 2019 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Sun. June 2, 2019 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Mon. June 3, 2019 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. June 5, 2019 – Toronto, ON @ The Opera House *
Thu. June 6, 2019 – Ann Arbor, MI @ The Ark *
Fri. June 7, 2019 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
Sat. June 8, 2019 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
Fri. June 14 – Brussels, BE @ AB *
Sat. June 15 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg *
Sun. June 16 – Mannheim, DE @ Maifield Derby *
Mon. June 17 – Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso *
Wed. June 19 – London, UK @ O2 Shepherds Bush Empire *
Thu. June 20 – Paris, FR @ Le Cabaret Sauvage *
Sat. June 22 – Hamburg, DE @ Knust *
Sun. June 23 – Copenhagen, DK @ Vega *
Mon. June 24 – Aarhus, DK @ Voxhall *
Wed. June 26 – Helsinki, FI @ Tavastia *
Fri. Jun 28, 2019 – Stockholm, Sweden @ Debaser/Bar Brooklyn (solo)
Sat. Jun 29, 2019 – Gothenburg, Sweden @ Pustervik (solo)
Sun. Jun 30, 2019 – Oslo, Norway @ John Dee (solo)
Mon. Jul 1, 2019 – Tromsø, Norway @ Blårock Café (solo)
Tue. Jul 2, 2019 – Bergen, Norway @ Landmark (solo)
Wed Jul 3, 2019 – Malmö, Sweden @ Babel (solo)
Fri. Jul 5, 2019 – Vilanova i la Geltrú, Spain @ Vida Festival (solo)
Sat. Jul 6, 2019 – Madrid, Spain @ Copérnico (solo)
Sun. Jul 7, 2019 – Lisbon, Portugal @ São Luiz Teatro Municipal (solo)
Mon. Jul 8, 2019 – Braga, Portugal @ Gnration (solo)
Wed. Jul 10, 2019 – Biarritz, France @ La Côte des Basques (solo)
Thu. Jul 11, 2019 – Bordeaux, France @ Rock School Barbey (solo)
Fri. Jul 12, 2019 – Toulouse, France @ Le Théatre de Garonne (solo)
Sun. Jul 14, 2019 – Roubaix, France @ La Cave aux Poetes (solo)
Wed. Jul 17, 2019 – Istanbul, Turkey @ IKSV (solo)
Fri. Jul 19, 2019 – Dublin, Ireland @ The Grand Social (solo)

* w/ Sam Cohen