Kevin Morby Debuts Oh My God Film

Kevin Morby has premiered the full version of Oh My God film
Kevin Morby 'Oh My God' film

Kevin Morby has premiered the full version of Oh My God film. The film. Directed by Christopher Good and co-created by Good and Morby, was made in conjunction with his album Oh My God, available via Dead Oceans. Additionally, Kevin will be participating in a live chat within the YouTube premiere that also starts at noon, while the film plays through for the first time. Morby describes the film below.:

After I had chosen to work with director Chris Good for all three of my singles off of Oh My God, it only seemed natural to keep working and make a visual representation for the whole album. I thought it important to capture this time in my life and career. It being my 5th record, I wanted to let listeners in on some of the behind the scenes and inside my head a bit more. We set out to make something that was half documentary and half dreamscape of both my life at the time while living back in Kansas City and the subject matter of the album.

I tend to exaggerate stories a lot of the times when I tell them, but only to do justice to what the experience felt like at the time – and that’s what I believe Chris and I have done with this film. We exaggerate and bend reality, but only in attempt to get a certain mood or feeling across. More than anything, this film was a lot of fun to make and I believe it is a lot of fun to watch. Upon completing the film I want viewers to feel like they had just fallen asleep and had a psychedelic dream while my album played in the room they were sleeping in, gently weaving itself into their dream. We made it entirely in Kansas City with Kansas citizens. Please… sit back, relax and I do hope you enjoy.

Kevin Morby
Tour Dates

Fri. Aug. 23 – Asheville, NC @ Diana Wortham Theatre (Transfigurations)
Fri. Aug. 30 – Sun. Sept. 1 – Montreal, QC @ Mile Ex End
Sat. Aug. 31 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Sun. Sept. 1 – Burlington, VT @ ArtsRiot
Tue. Sept. 3 – Jersey City, NJ @ Monty Hall
Wed. Sept. 4 – Baltimore, MD @ Creative Alliance
Thu. Sept. 5 – Cleveland, OH @ Survival Kit Gallery
Fri. Sept. 6 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Andy Warhol Museum
Sun. Sept. 8 – Nelsonville, OH @ Stuart’s Opera House
Mon. Sept. 9 – Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar
Tue. Sept. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Third Man Records
Thu. Sept. 12 – St. Louis, MO @ Native Sound
Fri. Sept. 13 – Memphis, TN @ The Green Room
Sat. Sept. 14 – Oklahoma City, OK @ City Pres
Sat. Sept. 28 – Accord, NY @ Woodsist Festival
Sat. Nov. 2 – Den Haag, NL @ Crossing Border
Sun. Nov. 3 – Leipzig, DE @ UT Connewitz
Mon. Nov. 4 – Berlin, DE @ Heimathafen Neukölln
Tue. Nov. 5 – Prague, CZ @ MEETFACTORY
Wed. Nov. 6 – Vienna, AT @ WUK
Fri. Nov. 8 – Mainz, DE @ KUZ
Mon. Nov. 11 – Brighton, UK @ All Saints Church
Tue. Nov. 12 – London, UK @ Cecil Sharp House
Wed. Nov. 13 – Leeds, UK @ Mill Hill Chapel
Thu. Nov. 14 – Manchester, UK @ The Dancehouse Theatre
Sat. Nov. 16 – Rouen, FR @ Le 106 Club
Sun. Nov. 17 – Paris, FR @ Le Trianon
Mon. Nov. 18 – Antwerpen, BE @ Autumns Falls at De Roma
Tue. Nov. 19 – Liège, BE @ Autumn Falls at Troca
Wed. Nov. 20 – Schorndorf, DE @ Club Manufaktur
Thu. Nov. 21 – Munich, DE @ Feierwerk
Fri. Nov. 22 – Cologne, DE @ Kulturkirche Köln
Sat. Nov. 23 – Lisbon, PT @ Super Bok In Stocl